Jump to content



Photo

Curious about stacking effects


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Wytefang

Wytefang

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,095 posts

Posted 23 September 2009 - 05:12 PM

If I have, say, two copies of the Infiltrate Quest card in play and with Resources piling up on them, do both card's effects work?



#2 vermillian

vermillian

    Member

  • Members
  • 882 posts

Posted 23 September 2009 - 06:27 PM

If you have two copies of Infiltrate quest in play, you are cheating.

It is a Unique Quest.  (IIRC)...

But otherwise yeah. Load it up with multiples!



#3 dormouse

dormouse

    LCG Designer

  • Members
  • 1,680 posts

Posted 23 September 2009 - 09:18 PM

Pretty much all effects stack here. There will be a few exceptions (such as when something says first damage oor what have you) but in general if it gives a + or - modifier they are cumulative.


"words are like arrows, once loosened you cannot call them back"


#4 Thee Forsaken One

Thee Forsaken One

    Member

  • Members
  • 80 posts

Posted 23 September 2009 - 11:11 PM

As Dormouse says, unless it says otherwise or uses words such as 'first' then everything in W:I stacks.

Also you can't have more than one copy of a card with a flag in its name in its name, quest, hero or whatever it may be.



#5 Wytefang

Wytefang

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,095 posts

Posted 24 September 2009 - 02:20 AM

Wow, that's funny - never noticed the Unique symbol (which is something that bugs me a bit - they're pretty small and easily overlooked, imho) on Infiltrate.

My second thought - after having made a mill-deck to try-out - is that with Infiltrate limited to being Unique, this deck-type/strategy is (for now) not very potent.  Hopefully we get some more cards to support that strategy.  :(

 

 



#6 vermillian

vermillian

    Member

  • Members
  • 882 posts

Posted 24 September 2009 - 05:32 AM

Are you playign Empire? Are you force moving their units in to their quest zone to force them to draw? are you alliance with dwarf to increase their costs of things? :)

It can be ok... but its defense tends to be a bit slow... you're looking in to a LONG game...



#7 Wytefang

Wytefang

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,095 posts

Posted 24 September 2009 - 06:41 AM

Yeah, I stupidly FORGOT that I can use some of the Empire cards to move them into my opponent's Quest area - duh on my part.  Still, that does make me a bit uneasy - giving your opponent a ton of cards can be a two-edged sword! 



#8 vermillian

vermillian

    Member

  • Members
  • 882 posts

Posted 24 September 2009 - 07:55 AM

Yeah I know. That was my biggest problem myself... you can kinda help it along by moving any guys they put in their kingdom zone to their quest zone, destroying any support cards they might have their, and such...

Also this deck doesn't ever put any units in its Battlefeild... it just defends its quest and kingdom zone. It also needs to run the other Nuetral quest to get cards back from its discard... you might deck out yourself as well.



#9 dormouse

dormouse

    LCG Designer

  • Members
  • 1,680 posts

Posted 25 September 2009 - 12:42 AM

Milling is dangerous right now. It really is a race, but yes, shifting units from your opponents Kingdom Zone to Quest Zone and increase the cost to bring anything out will really add to your Quest based mill. Defending your own resources and quest zone becomes very important and you have to really watch how many cards you are drawing. You want enough to keep a nice selection of cards in your hand, but not so much that you keep accumulating more than you can play out.

But then again, if it was easy it wouldn't be fun. ;)


"words are like arrows, once loosened you cannot call them back"


#10 vermillian

vermillian

    Member

  • Members
  • 882 posts

Posted 25 September 2009 - 06:17 AM

I wish Mill would die... not the deck strategy but the word everyone uses to represent the concept of 'making your opponent discard cards from their deck'... also everytime you use the word 'Mill' you give the card game that shall not be named more powerful! :)

But yeah, like you said, I don't ever want DECK-OUT strategies to be too easy... unlike in some incarnations of some games...



#11 dormouse

dormouse

    LCG Designer

  • Members
  • 1,680 posts

Posted 26 September 2009 - 06:37 AM

I love Discard-Decks. Even in AGoT where it does not fulfill a win requirement. I always want them viable, just not easy.


"words are like arrows, once loosened you cannot call them back"


#12 vermillian

vermillian

    Member

  • Members
  • 882 posts

Posted 27 September 2009 - 02:42 AM

Well see... now 'discard decks' makes me think you're talking about a deck that discards cards from people's hands... in a game where you filll up to your hand size every two seconds that makes sense, but this isn't one of those games... "deck-out" deck is what I pre...

oh whatever. Mill. its Mill ok. Forever and always, it'll be called a term based on ONE card from the mid 90s from a card game that started it all. Even if they don't know the terms origins, they'll still call it Mill. :P

But yeah, discard in AGoT = fun. Few years back with House Greyjoy? Oh yea.



#13 jogo

jogo

    Member

  • Members
  • 505 posts

Posted 27 September 2009 - 02:46 AM

Hypnotic Specter for the world.

I think I am going to build a Scout deck apart form my  Orc deck.



#14 dormouse

dormouse

    LCG Designer

  • Members
  • 1,680 posts

Posted 27 September 2009 - 10:48 PM

Well you could call it a Deck-Discard-Deck. :P

I've always found that removing cards from a players hand is very important if I plan on removing cards from their deck as a major function of my deck.Very close up there is the ability to get rid of problem cards already in play. A deckthat discarded from the draw deck of your opponent, had the ability to remove cards they had already drawn from their hand, and get rid of some of their cards in play already is a deck that utterly destroys your opponents card advantage essentially making it impossible for them to count on any given card and destroys combos. Yay!

I had a Greyjoy deck that did this pretty well, discarding their locations, and cards from hand all the while taking huge bites out of their draw deck. IT went undeafeted fro two or tree months in joust and lost only twice in melee (and was able to deck every player a few times in 4-person melee). That was however playing "standard" after the switch had gone to LCG.

I look forward to creating something similar in this game... though I'm actually interested in playing a deck that abuses corruption. Not sure if the cards are there yet, but I'm keeping my eyes open as the new Battle Packs come out.


"words are like arrows, once loosened you cannot call them back"





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS