Photo

I just got into 2nd Ed... now I hear there's a third? should I change?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 zWolf

zWolf

• Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 14 September 2009 - 10:42 PM

I started playing 2nd Ed and loved it... I'm just wondering, if there is a significant reason to switch over, or is that something that's hotly debated?

also, how long has the 2nd ed books been out?  I didn't know that it had been long... er.. long enough for a new edition to be needed, but truth is, I Really don't know WHen 2nd ed was introduced... just that I was introduced last year.

thanks,

zWolf -out.

#2 pumpkin

pumpkin

• Members
  • 1,112 posts

Posted 14 September 2009 - 11:34 PM

Wher have you been for the last few years!? ;)

OK, the bottom line is that it is obviously completely up to you whether you switch or not...

A couple of things to be aware of..

here are a large number of 2nd edition books out, althuogh several of them are not currently in print but ARE available as electronic PDF from FFG (check the web site). It's not clear from your opst how much 2ed (or 1st ed for that matter) stuff you own, but there is enough 2nd material for you to run/play 2nd for a number of years to come especially if you have only just started playing it.

However, FFG have said they will not be producing any new 2nd ed material and it is not yet clear (to me at least) how much of the 3rd ed material can be converted to 2nd; its clear from what has been said that 2nd and 3rd ed are in different time frames (2nd ed opst storm of chaos/3rd ed seems to be just pre storm of chaos). We actually play 3nd in pre storm of chaos era anyway so if my group do stick with 2nd ed, i don't think this time shift of the fluff material is likely to be a big issue anyway.