Jump to content



Photo

KiY Unvisited Isle encounter question


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Arborshate

Arborshate

    Member

  • Members
  • 42 posts

Posted 01 December 2008 - 03:47 PM

Amazingly, someone was actually available to play AH over the weekend, and we played with KiY, but there was one encounter that we encountered that seemed a bit odd: 

Unvisited Isle

A monster is attacking a huddled figure in the shadows.  If you pass the first Combat check you make against the monster, you may draw a random Ally or Spell. 

So, does that mean that we draw a monster similar to "a monster appears", or is it more like the vampire encounter in rivertown, and this is implicitly a Combat (+0) check? 



#2 thorgrim

thorgrim

    Member

  • Members
  • 207 posts

Posted 01 December 2008 - 03:59 PM

Not that I have KiY, but I would judge by the wording you've got there that it would resolve like the vampire encounter (although it is worded in a very ugly and ambiguous way).



#3 MrsGamura

MrsGamura

    Member

  • Members
  • 651 posts

Posted 01 December 2008 - 05:24 PM

 Yup treat this as any other check. So add up your fight +items to combat checks...roll those dice and if you get a success you get a spell or ally!



#4 MrsGamura

MrsGamura

    Member

  • Members
  • 651 posts

Posted 01 December 2008 - 05:24 PM

 Yup treat this as any other check. So add up your fight +items to combat checks...roll those dice and if you get a success you get a spell or ally!



#5 jhaelen

jhaelen

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,052 posts

Posted 01 December 2008 - 08:24 PM

MrsGamura said:

Yup treat this as any other check. So add up your fight +items to combat checks...roll those dice and if you get a success you get a spell or ally!
Really? But it doesn't say Combat (+0) - which would be incredibly easy. How do you decide on the difficulty of the check?

When we had that encounter this weekend we decided to draw a monster from the monster cup which makes more sense, imho.



#6 Morgaln

Morgaln

    Member

  • Members
  • 132 posts

Posted 01 December 2008 - 09:55 PM

You definitely draw a monster for this encounter. It specifically says that you get the Ally or Spell if you pass the first combat check. The only way you can have more than one check is if you draw a monster and fail the first combat check against it (in which case you don't get the spoils, even if you defeat it on a subsequent check).



#7 kilrah

kilrah

    Member

  • Members
  • 138 posts

Posted 02 December 2008 - 12:43 AM

Completely agree with Morgaln. Seems to be the only logical conclusion unless the "first" is a misprint.



#8 bioball

bioball

    Member

  • Members
  • 210 posts

Posted 02 December 2008 - 05:37 AM

I disagree, I think the reason card states specifically the "first" combat check is because you might have a spell, item, ally or skill that allows for a second check if you fail the first.

I would not draw a monster and instead just make a combat check of +0 as a previous poster suggested.



#9 Arborshate

Arborshate

    Member

  • Members
  • 42 posts

Posted 02 December 2008 - 05:43 AM

Yeah, the "first" thing is a bit vague.  Technically, even a single-check skill resolution has a "first" check (the first, last, and only one), but it would seem to imply the potential for multiple, which would then in turn imply drawing a monster from the cup.  However, it's still unclear.  

Well, since it's worth a Skill, I guess that we'll run it as drawing a monster from the cup until we get an official ruling.  



#10 Bravo McWilley

Bravo McWilley

    Member

  • Members
  • 161 posts

Posted 02 December 2008 - 06:52 AM

I believe this makes perfect sense. You are to draw a monster from the cup. This is indicated by the text reading that "a monster" emerges rather than a specific monster. You now must pass the first combat check, which means make your horror check as normal-Then pass the combat check. If you don't, then you take the damage the monster deals and now you have failed the "first combat check" so do what the card says in that case.



#11 Bravo McWilley

Bravo McWilley

    Member

  • Members
  • 161 posts

Posted 02 December 2008 - 06:57 AM

Also, I would consider things like Mandys re-roll to be a "Second combat check" and thus not getting the benefit if you have to use such a thing, but do not know if this is official, just something I would do to make it harder as the reward is pretty great.



#12 ColtsFan76

ColtsFan76

    Rules Guru

  • Members
  • 1,040 posts

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:15 AM

This encounter should probably be treated as a "A Monster Appears!" encounter.  Fight it as normal and keep it as a trophy if you win.  You have the added bonus that if you win in a single round - the first round - you also get to draw an Ally or Skill.

Mandy's ability is a re-roll of failed dice of that Skill check so it is still considered a first round roll if you use it.  So you could fight a monster, fail, use Mandy to re-roll, defeat the monster, and still meet the conditions on the card to draw the Ally or Skill.



#13 Arborshate

Arborshate

    Member

  • Members
  • 42 posts

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:36 AM

OK, I seem to have gotten confused earlier and said "Skill" when I meant "Ally".  I knew that it was one of those powerful hard-to-get small cards, though I did find it odd that it was one of those plus Spell, instead of "Skill or Ally", or one, or the other, or an anything.  It just seems like an odd combination. 

P.S.:  I'll get back to the "search for items in decks" thread later this week. 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS