• Please log in to reply
54 replies to this topic

#1 chojun

chojun

• Members
  • 49 posts

Posted 07 September 2009 - 04:30 AM

so now what do you think now? 

First, I have never played v1 or v2 but it wasnt from lack of wanting to.  I have both editions of the rules, and they both looked cool.  also, I dont have a history with the game and a bookshelf of books. so Im not angry and I dont have a whole lot of speculative hatred on this...but I did with 4e D&D so I totally understand the haters

But for what its worth,  I am very optimistic especially since the dice system was explained. I'm a sucker for crazy looking dice.

I'm a special education teacher and I know a few things about this and that.  visual perception or lack of it, levels of abstract thought that kind of thing.  I think its high time for a visual resolution system instead of a numerical.  It can possiblely cut down on the abstraction of the mechanics.  Instead of remembering to add 10 % to this roll for this circumstance, everything is referenced on the card and you add a dice. that can make a game that can move a bit quicker. The older i get the less math i want to do, the less things i want to remember. (how do i charge, can I parry or dodge, ok how do i do that?, was that a half action or a full action, etc)  I hope the new version helps cut down on a lot of that

What I want from a designer diary is to get a look at each type of card, an example of combat, and how they expect you to use the cardboard minis since they explicitly stated that this wasnt a mini game. And more importantly how easy is this game to GM?

cheers

#2 Tang86

Tang86

• Members
  • 132 posts

Posted 07 September 2009 - 06:06 AM