Jump to content



Photo

signal jam and no more CC's in reinforcements??


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Darkflame

Darkflame

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 30 November 2008 - 06:13 PM

so if you have all you CC's on your race sheet you cant be targeted for diplomacyII or signal jam??

 

wtf is up with that?



#2 Joram

Joram

    Member

  • Members
  • 289 posts

Posted 30 November 2008 - 07:58 PM

For Diplomacy, you would have to remove a CC from your race sheet.

For Action Cards, you are indeed immune.

Relevant reading: TI3:SE rulebook, page 14; TI FAQ, page 7;



#3 possumman

possumman

    Member

  • Members
  • 128 posts

Posted 30 November 2008 - 08:09 PM

 Concur with Joram - for Diplomacy specifically, you must remove one. For all other triggers, you are immune.



#4 MOther

MOther

    Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts

Posted 30 November 2008 - 08:22 PM

note that umpapa's real precise and rule quoting answer is not to be found on this forum



#5 Tawnos76

Tawnos76

    Member

  • Members
  • 126 posts

Posted 01 December 2008 - 03:43 AM

Joram is correct.

 

It is just another case where the rules do not seem to make sense. 

The SC can affect you and take a CC off your board if non are available in reinforcements but the AC or PC's are useless against you if nothing is in your reinforcements.



#6 sigmazero13

sigmazero13

    Rules Geek

  • Members
  • 1,896 posts

Posted 01 December 2008 - 06:08 AM

Tawnos76 said:

Joram is correct.

 

It is just another case where the rules do not seem to make sense. 

The SC can affect you and take a CC off your board if non are available in reinforcements but the AC or PC's are useless against you if nothing is in your reinforcements.

I disagree that they "don't make sense".  Diplomacy II, for example, was more intended to protect the Diplomacy user than punish the other player(s).  Thus, in order to ENSURE that protection, taking one regardless of circumstances makes more sense.

For the AC case, the action is more intended as a punishment to the player.  As such, a player who is able to wisely utilize all 16 CCs should be rewarded for it, and not thrown to the wolves.

 

Thematically, if you care about such things, the Signal Jamming could be spaghetti-sauced by thinking of "no CC in reinforcements" to imply enough planning to implement redundant communications to your little empire, making a single signal jammed during that time of top-notch logistical power useless.



#7 Ugluk

Ugluk

    Member

  • Members
  • 33 posts

Posted 01 December 2008 - 06:35 AM

You are immune from Signal Jam but your Skilled Retreat are useless until you spend a CC from your Strategy allocation and you are also barred from doing any Transfer action.

So that immunity from Signal Jamming come at a price that you should think of before acquiring your 16th CCs.



#8 possumman

possumman

    Member

  • Members
  • 128 posts

Posted 01 December 2008 - 08:20 AM

 Excellent point, Ugluk - having all 16 CCs on your race sheet is generally quite a bad thing. Being immune to Signal Jamming is probably the only upside.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS