Jump to content



Photo

Question about Infiltrate


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Wytefang

Wytefang

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,098 posts

Posted 22 August 2009 - 06:10 PM

I was lucky enough to have someone nab me a copy of this cool new LCG and I have only one question (so far, LOL):

 

1. With Infiltrate - I understand that it provides a player with the opportunity to do damage immediately after assigning the Defender but what would be the benefit of that?  Can that kill off an Attacker BEFORE damage is actually assigned?  If that's not the case, why would this be a useful ability?

Thanks to anyone who may have had this question answered at GenCon.

 

 



#2 Marius

Marius

    Member

  • Members
  • 725 posts

Posted 22 August 2009 - 11:51 PM

Wytefang said:

I was lucky enough to have someone nab me a copy of this cool new LCG and I have only one question (so far, LOL):

 

1. With Infiltrate - I understand that it provides a player with the opportunity to do damage immediately after assigning the Defender but what would be the benefit of that?  Can that kill off an Attacker BEFORE damage is actually assigned?  If that's not the case, why would this be a useful ability?

Thanks to anyone who may have had this question answered at GenCon.

 

Infiltrate

Quest. Forced: At the beginning of your turn, discard the top X cards from each opponent's deck. X is the number of resource tokens on this quest.

Quest. Forced: At the beginning of your turn, place 1 resource token on this quest if a unit is questing here.

----

Ok, that doesn't make sense with your question. Did you mean Counterstrike X? Counterstrike damage is dealt before the damage assignement step, so it is able to kill off an attacker before normal combat even starts.



#3 Osiris

Osiris

    Member

  • Members
  • 115 posts

Posted 23 August 2009 - 12:35 AM

Wytefang said:

I was lucky enough to have someone nab me a copy of this cool new LCG and I have only one question (so far, LOL):

 

1. With Infiltrate - I understand that it provides a player with the opportunity to do damage immediately after assigning the Defender but what would be the benefit of that?  Can that kill off an Attacker BEFORE damage is actually assigned?  If that's not the case, why would this be a useful ability?

Thanks to anyone who may have had this question answered at GenCon.

 

 

 

Marius has pretty much got it spot on. The damage is assigned and then dealt immediately with no opportunity for effects to take place between this stage. Therefore it has the potential to kill or seriously damage an attacker before there damage is even assigned.

 

Another important thing about counterstrike is that the damage is uncancellable. Therefore it is a good defensive ability against toughness or people with damage prevention abilities in their deck

 

Osiris



#4 Wytefang

Wytefang

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,098 posts

Posted 23 August 2009 - 04:33 AM

Ugh!  Sorry, I meant to type "Counterstrike" - no clue why I used the word Infiltrate.  D'oh!

Thanks for the answers, fellas. 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS