Jump to content



Photo

Encounter Cards


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Dice23

Dice23

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 18 August 2009 - 06:08 AM

I have played a few test rounds of the game after picking up a copy at GenCon, one question comes up over and over again. During the Hero's turn the Encounter step requires the hero to draw 3 cards and resolve one based on certain conditions. The problem I have run into is what happens when at least 2 encounter cards have the same value and the same region but none match the hero's location. The rules are clear that you only discard all 3 encounter cards

"If none of the Encounter cards affect the hero’s current location
or region, then they are all discarded, and the hero’s turn is over."

But in our game 2 cards had the same value and region (the 3rd card was of a higher value and different region). Do we still discard all 3? Do we use the one whose location is closest to the hero's actual location?

 

 



#2 Titeman

Titeman

    Member

  • Members
  • 249 posts

Posted 18 August 2009 - 07:32 AM

Do the cards mention the region or specific locations?  If there are 2 cards with equal value and the same locaiton, that is a quandary.  If they both mention locations in the hero's region, but neither are that hero's location, they are discarded...


--------------------------------------------------
Do not meddle in the affairs of Dragons, for you are crunchy and taste good with ketchup...

#3 Dice23

Dice23

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 18 August 2009 - 08:26 AM

All Encounter cards represent two regions each, so it is possible to draw 3 Encounter cards that do not match the location nor the region the Hero is on. But the question I have is when the location does not match but the region on two card does match and the value of the two cards with in the same region is the same. You only discard all three card if neither the location nor region matches the Heros location.

 



#4 MartinTrouman

MartinTrouman

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 August 2009 - 10:14 AM

Dice I think you got it wrong somewhere... or maybe you have a faulty deck...

I just ran through my deck of encounter cards, and  all 5 set follow the same logic:

Value 1 cards have specific locations (all are different)
Value 3 cards each have a region (2 in each set)
Value 4 cards with a quest for each region (2 in each set)
Higher value cards have "any location" - and all have different values

So, for me, there is no possible way to draw a specific location card and a region card with the same value.

Draw 3 cards, see which apply to your location, pick the lowest value of those.



#5 Titeman

Titeman

    Member

  • Members
  • 249 posts

Posted 18 August 2009 - 10:17 AM

Dice, are you under the impression that as long as the Region matches you can play it even if the Location is different?  If so, that is not the case.  If a card specifies a Location, the card can only be played on that Location...


--------------------------------------------------
Do not meddle in the affairs of Dragons, for you are crunchy and taste good with ketchup...

#6 MasterDinadan

MasterDinadan

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 18 August 2009 - 10:35 AM

The only encounter cards that have equal numbers have mutually exclusive conditions.  It's not possible to draw 2 cards of the same number and be in a position to qualify for both.



#7 Dice23

Dice23

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 19 August 2009 - 11:58 PM

Thanks everyone - especially Martin your explanation was spot on. I was over reading the rule and trying to apply the Encounter cards regional color to the decision making process. I have since played a few more games and it makes more sense now.

 

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS