Jump to content



Photo

The Backer


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Gerard the batterer

Gerard the batterer

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 15 August 2009 - 11:55 AM

Can you be a backer if you only have one bet on a creature in a combat row, being the only bet, or do you have to have at least two bets, one on each individual combat row and having the highest value?



#2 Trump

Trump

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts

Posted 16 August 2009 - 03:58 AM

One bet is enough.  You just add up the value of everyone's bets on that creature and whoever has the most is the backer.  If tied, whoever bid first is the backer.



#3 Gerard the batterer

Gerard the batterer

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 16 August 2009 - 05:40 AM

What if I have one bet on a creature and I'm the only one that has a bet, can I be a backer?

One more question...I'm assuming that nobody can be a backer in the 1st. round?

Thanks, for your quick reply,

Gerry



#4 Gerard the batterer

Gerard the batterer

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 16 August 2009 - 08:44 AM

Being more explicit... If I place a bet in the first round on a creature, and since only one player can place a bet on the same creature. Can I be a backer?



#5 Trump

Trump

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts

Posted 17 August 2009 - 01:46 PM

I'm not sure I see where your confusion lies.  The most valuable backing makes you the backer. Anyone else who hasn't bet on that creature has essentially bid zero on it.

 

Your bids happen instantly, so if you bid on a creature in the first round and then slap a card on that creature, you get to use its power.



#6 Gerard the batterer

Gerard the batterer

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 18 August 2009 - 07:43 AM

 I was under the assumption that two players had to have a bet on a creature and the highest bet gets to be a backer.

I now understand completely. Thank you.

Gerry



#7 sigmazero13

sigmazero13

    Rules Geek

  • Members
  • 1,683 posts

Posted 12 October 2009 - 08:15 AM

Trump said:

If tied, whoever bid first is the backer.

In the rules PDF, it says if it's tied, NIETHER player is the backer.  Is the PDF file wrong?



#8 Trump

Trump

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts

Posted 13 October 2009 - 02:45 PM

You are correct!  I'm either playing by the old Titan rules or am just play wrong.  :)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS