Jump to content



Photo

Sympathizer Card - clarification


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Hibernian11

Hibernian11

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 28 November 2008 - 10:11 AM

I was hoping someone could clarify the rules surrounding the sympathy card in the Sleeper Agent Phase.

I wanted to walk through the following scenarios to see if my understanding of the rules are correct.

1. I am a revealed cylon player prior to the sleeper agent phase:

  • I have the choice of keeping the sympathizer card or I may give the card to another player;
  • If I choose to keep the sympathezier card, the following happens:
  • I side with the humans for the rest of the game;
  • If a resource is in the red, I will not be moved to the Brig because I'm already in the cylon area; and
  • If no resources are red, then nothing really happens as I am already a revealed cylon.

2.  I am an unrevealed cylon player prior to the sleeper agent phase:

  • I side with humans for the rest of the game;
  • If a resource is in the red, I am moved to the Brig; and
  • If no resources are in the red, then I become a revealed cylon player with the limitation that I cannot activate the cylon fleet nor can I use super crisis cards.  (Question:  Can I still reveal myself as a cylon at a later time to give myself the ability to activate the cylon fleet and maybe get a super crisis card?  If I'm siding with humans, I probably would not want to do this anyway, but just a question)

3.  I am a human player prior to the sleeper agent phase:

  • I side with cylons for the rest of the game;
  • If a resource is in the red, I am moved to the Brig; and
  • If no resources are in the red, then I become a revealed cylon player with the limitation that I cannot activate the cylon fleet nor can I use super crisis cards. 

Thanks in advance for your help.



#2 Smuggler

Smuggler

    Member

  • Members
  • 242 posts

Posted 28 November 2008 - 08:16 PM

Very interesting questions. I hadn't realy thought about some of the situations you mention. My thoughts though...

 

If you are human (have no I'm a cylon cards) and get the sympathiser card:

Resource in the red: You are a cylon but side with the humans (you win and lose with the humna side). You are sent to the brig as humans don't trust cylons right away.

One (or more) resource in the red: You are human but side with the cylons (you win or lose with the cylons).

 

Unrevealed cylon + sympathiser card? Revealed cylon + decide to keep the sympathiser card? I got no idea on either one of thouse.



#3 YUKI.N>

YUKI.N>

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 28 November 2008 - 09:35 PM

I was thinking about these very questions earlier today.  They seem tough to answer with what knowledge of the game I currently have.



#4 Smuggler

Smuggler

    Member

  • Members
  • 242 posts

Posted 28 November 2008 - 11:24 PM

As I understand it, the very point of the sympathizer cards are to help out which ever side is loseing (any resource in red or not) at roughly the midle through the game (the sleeper agent phase). Keeping that in mind we might be able to answere the questions.

 

1a. Pure human + sympathizer + red resource

1b. Pure human + sympathizer + no  red resource

2a. Hidden cylon + sympathizer + red resource

2b. Hidden cylon + sympathizer + no  red resource

3a. Revealed cylon + give away sympathizer + red resource

3b. Revealed cylon + give away sympathizer + no  red resource

4a. Revealed cylon + keep sympathizer + red resource

4b. Revealed cylon + keep sympathizer + no  red resource

 

1a. Humans need a helping hand so sypathizer is a sleeper agent who decides to help the humans (he plays for the human team, but story vise he is a cylon). He is sent to the brig as to not give the humans to much help (humnas don't trust even friendly toasters).

1b. Cylons need help. The sympathizer is a human story vise but plays for the cylon team. As he is not actualy cylon his cylon actions are restricted (to not help the cylons to much).

2a. Needs to play the same as 1a to not give away the identity of the hiden cylon... But the the question remains, can he then reveal him self later? Kind of like a dubbel agent. I guess the answere is yes, even though the help for the humans is then thrown out the window... Strickly going by the rules it should work like this. The sympathizer card, once resolved is treated like a "You are not a cylon" card. And the remaining cylon card override all your not a cylon cards leaving you a cylon playing for the cylon team. And as such you are free to revela or stay hiden as you see fitt.

2b. Allso needs to play as 1b to protect the identity of the hidden cylon. So the player is a cylon possing as a human who sides with the cylons. He is then restricted in his cylon actions. He should then be able to use the resurectionship to give his unrevealed cylon card to an other player, or reveal him self to regain his full cylon powers.

3a and 3b. Nothing odd here. The person receiving the sympathizer card will be in situation 1ab or 2ab. The revealed cylon stays a revealed cylon.

4a. The rulez specificly says the card must be resolved right away. And they allso state that you "may choose" to give away the card. So keeping it is clearly an option... But now it gets contradictory. The rules say you are sent to the brig, but revealed cylons can't be sent to the brig right? The card is then treated as a you are not a cylon card, but you still have your revealed cylon card so you are still on the cylon team... The most logical thing to me would be to ignore the effects of the card should you keep it. So the only reason to keep it would be if you think you might risk sending an unrevealed cylon to the brig.

4b. Allso a bit contradictory. Does the effect of the card strip you of your full cylon powers? Seems odd... But then again, why the frak would you keep the card in this situation? Is there any enterpretation of the rulez that would give this option any valide strategic use?

 

 

 

To me it seems like the chooise to keep the sympathizer card as a revealed cylon is a bit of a mistake in the rules? Mabye the intent is that you must give it away?



#5 Bohemond

Bohemond

    Member

  • Members
  • 566 posts

Posted 29 November 2008 - 03:28 AM

I read the rules in the same way as smuggler.  I have yet to run into a case when a cylon would choose to keep the symapthizer card.  Under no circumstances should someone with a "you are a cylon" card share victory conditions with the human players.



#6 Justito

Justito

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 29 November 2008 - 04:22 AM

 Hello to everyone.

I just bought the game, and i was reading the rulez, and i dont understand what a Sympathizer will do the rest of the game.

If he is in the humans side, he will play like a normal human after he can get out from brig? Or he ill stall all game in Brig?

 

And if it is at the cylons side, he just can move?

 

Thanks for any reply to me.



#7 Smuggler

Smuggler

    Member

  • Members
  • 242 posts

Posted 29 November 2008 - 06:26 AM

Justito said:

 Hello to everyone.

I just bought the game, and i was reading the rulez, and i dont understand what a Sympathizer will do the rest of the game.

If he is in the humans side, he will play like a normal human after he can get out from brig? Or he ill stall all game in Brig?

 

And if it is at the cylons side, he just can move?

 

Thanks for any reply to me.

He can get out of the brig by passing the skill check just as any other person that is sent to the brig for any reason. When he is out he continue to play as normal.



#8 Justito

Justito

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 29 November 2008 - 06:47 AM

 Thanks Smuggler. 

Now it is clear, but what if he it is in cylons side? in his next turn he will play as a normal cylon or just fcan use 3 of the 4 locations?

.

 

 

 

 

 

 



#9 Melonball

Melonball

    Member

  • Members
  • 137 posts

Posted 29 November 2008 - 09:39 PM

Smuggler said:

 

To me it seems like the chooise to keep the sympathizer card as a revealed cylon is a bit of a mistake in the rules? Mabye the intent is that you must give it away?

I think this is definately the case.  If you're a revealed Cylon who drew the sympathizer card I'm pretty sure you're just supposed to automatically assign it to someone else.



#10 Melonball

Melonball

    Member

  • Members
  • 137 posts

Posted 29 November 2008 - 09:41 PM

Justito said:

 Thanks Smuggler. 

Now it is clear, but what if he it is in cylons side? in his next turn he will play as a normal cylon or just fcan use 3 of the 4 locations?

The sympathizer can just use 3 of the 4 locations for the rest of the game (and has no super crisis)



#11 Justito

Justito

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 29 November 2008 - 11:44 PM

 Thanks to all of you for your help.

 

Sumpathizer card it seems to be not so fun, today i will have my first game. I hope i will dont get this card, or the wrose thing, i am cylong and give this card to other player.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS