Jump to content



Photo

New spoiler up: The Great Race returns in "The Shadow out of Time"


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Marius

Marius

    Member

  • Members
  • 725 posts

Posted 27 November 2008 - 10:57 PM

There is a new spoiler article up, featuring the Shadow Out of Time. Enjoy!



#2 Bard

Bard

    Member

  • Members
  • 99 posts

Posted 28 November 2008 - 12:38 AM

What an excellent story card! I absolutely love the design on that one. The article was well-written, too, good job.



#3 Guest_Not In Sample_*

Guest_Not In Sample_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 November 2008 - 12:38 AM

Another wonderful article for another weird/amazing story card...

 

Thanks, Marius...

Even if this effect seems "self-destructive" in many ways, I think there are lots of options to get rid of the drawbacks and take advantage from it...(snow graves is a right option in this sense)...

 

Exciting, I have to say.

 



#4 Marius

Marius

    Member

  • Members
  • 725 posts

Posted 28 November 2008 - 12:40 AM

Self destructive, huh? The passage on how you can put a character (Ghoul Khanum?) from your hand in the discard pile to get your Greg out seems to be missing in the text. I'd hardly would call that self-destructive. ;)



#5 Johan Scipion

Johan Scipion

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 28 November 2008 - 02:50 AM

Great story card effect.

Can't wait to see the next one.

- J.



#6 Hastur

Hastur

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 28 November 2008 - 03:24 AM

A very interesting story card. It may force a lot of players to pack a Snow Graves or two into their decks- good thing it isn't steadfast. I like the artwork too- as always, an A+.



#7 Master of R'lyeh

Master of R'lyeh

    Member

  • Members
  • 90 posts

Posted 28 November 2008 - 05:51 AM

So if I have three cards in hand I can only exchange with the three top most cards in my discard pile?  If I choose one in my hand do I have to take the top most discarded card or any card in the discard pile?



#8 Marius

Marius

    Member

  • Members
  • 725 posts

Posted 28 November 2008 - 06:42 AM

"So if I have three cards in hand I can only exchange with the three top most cards in my discard pile?  If I choose one in my hand do I have to take the top most discarded card or any card in the discard pile?"

That's correct. Some sacrifices are to be made... ;)



#9 Guest_Not In Sample_*

Guest_Not In Sample_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 November 2008 - 09:17 AM

Marius said:

Self destructive, huh? The passage on how you can put a character (Ghoul Khanum?) from your hand in the discard pile to get your Greg out seems to be missing in the text. I'd hardly would call that self-destructive. ;)

Good point...In fact, I wrote "seems" self destructive... :-)

Damned Khanum...Damned Greg (card, not player :-) )...Snow graves, please!!!



#10 Dwnhmcntryboy

Dwnhmcntryboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 176 posts

Posted 28 November 2008 - 10:24 AM

Slightly OT. anyone notice how these stories are comming out every week instead of every other?

Cool stories BTW, great writing. So far I'm not mad at a single one that has been spoiled.



#11 PearlJamaholic

PearlJamaholic

    Member

  • Members
  • 541 posts

Posted 28 November 2008 - 12:44 PM

best story spoiled so far. i hope this gets used more often than not though. snow graves might help with that.



#12 Bard

Bard

    Member

  • Members
  • 99 posts

Posted 28 November 2008 - 09:34 PM

I don't think Snow Graves will be that needed. Often times one player has something useful on the top of the discard pile, the other doesn't. I'd put more weight on playing correctly than putting Snow Graves in the deck. Not that I'd think SG is bad, I just believe it's not necessarily needed when trying to use this story card effectively.



#13 lordofmasks

lordofmasks

    Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts

Posted 28 November 2008 - 10:46 PM

Nice Story card...very original.

I hope we get to see more of the Great Race...and this time tournament legal.

 

lordofmasks



#14 PearlJamaholic

PearlJamaholic

    Member

  • Members
  • 541 posts

Posted 29 November 2008 - 01:22 AM

Bard said:

I don't think Snow Graves will be that needed. Often times one player has something useful on the top of the discard pile, the other doesn't. I'd put more weight on playing correctly than putting Snow Graves in the deck. Not that I'd think SG is bad, I just believe it's not necessarily needed when trying to use this story card effectively.

youre probably right, but a smart player might see that youre about to win that story and play an event on something not so useful just so they kinda get a freebie. if i saw i was gonna lose the story id play unspeakable resurrection on anything i had in my discard to keep them from getting maybe doa or something.



#15 Hybrid

Hybrid

    Member

  • Members
  • 266 posts

Posted 01 December 2008 - 01:26 PM

I must say that I am very pleased with the Core Set Story Cards

that have been spoiled so far! With so much uncertainty it's nice

to have a little something to cling to.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS