Jump to content



Photo

Avatar of Death question!?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 A Paperback Hero

A Paperback Hero

    Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts

Posted 01 July 2009 - 02:20 PM

Hi all!

I just picked up Anima: SoO and BGaE, we are trying SoO for the first time and I had a question about the encounter card Avatar of Death. Does this card make you lose every card you have advantage cards and characters? Or does it make you lose just advantage cards?



#2 A Paperback Hero

A Paperback Hero

    Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts

Posted 01 July 2009 - 05:38 PM

Well until we can get some clarification my friends and I are playing under the rule that all cards possessed by the player, advantage and character, are discarded except for the missions.



#3 Skywalker

Skywalker

    Member

  • Members
  • 439 posts

Posted 02 July 2009 - 08:54 AM

A Paperback Hero said:

Well until we can get some clarification my friends and I are playing under the rule that all cards possessed by the player, advantage and character, are discarded except for the missions.

My memory is a bit hazy on the wording of the card, but I think we always played it as cards in your hand i.e. advantage cards.



#4 A Paperback Hero

A Paperback Hero

    Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts

Posted 04 July 2009 - 05:26 AM

Ya that seems probably a better and fairer ruling. Tried a few games and getting the Avatar of Death late game and playing it as losing both characters and advantage cards basically shuts you down from winning completely. I think my friends and I will probably start playing it the way you said above.



#5 Skywalker

Skywalker

    Member

  • Members
  • 439 posts

Posted 04 July 2009 - 09:25 AM

A Paperback Hero said:

Ya that seems probably a better and fairer ruling. Tried a few games and getting the Avatar of Death late game and playing it as losing both characters and advantage cards basically shuts you down from winning completely. I think my friends and I will probably start playing it the way you said above.

Reading the old card, it says discard all cards in your hand. That suggest to me to exclude PCs as they are in play and not in your hand.



#6 Critical Miss

Critical Miss

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 06 July 2009 - 05:10 AM

 Hello there!

When the Avatar of Death encounter card is drawn, the player who drew it must discard all of the cards in his hand. This means that the 2 Basic Mission cards as well as any Characters in the player's Party (meaning that the Characters are in the play area in front of the player) are NOT discarded. However, if the player happens to have Character cards in his hand which have not been placed in play area and included in his Party, those are also discarded.  Hope this clears it up.



#7 RoboSheep

RoboSheep

    Member

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 13 July 2009 - 03:21 AM

At what point can you have anything in your hand except for Advantage cards?






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS