Jump to content



Photo

Border Wars


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 AMBusam

AMBusam

    Member

  • Members
  • 63 posts

Posted 20 June 2009 - 02:47 AM

The card reads:

You accomplish this objective if you have at least two forts and/or cities in provinces adjacent to a savage province (excluding your kingdom).

Does "a savage province" mean 'a single savage province' or 'any savage province'?

In other words, do the forts/cities have to be next to the same savage province?

Thanks,

AMBusam



#2 Deatheux

Deatheux

    Member

  • Members
  • 33 posts

Posted 20 June 2009 - 03:55 AM

it looks to be "any' savage region, but usually, forts & cities are packed up in the same places...



#3 Necronis

Necronis

    Member

  • Members
  • 118 posts

Posted 20 June 2009 - 09:19 AM

    It does read like the 2 coastal cards doesnt it? I dont see any problem (unless Im losing) to it being any provinces. Never had it come up before.



#4 Tim Kelly

Tim Kelly

    Member

  • Members
  • 281 posts

Posted 20 June 2009 - 04:34 PM

Ran in to this the first time this weekend.  We have always played the two forts/cities must be adjacent to the same province, but played for the first time with some folks who were adamant the adjacency need not be with just a single savage province.  I can see it either way, and would sure like to hear what the designers had it mind. 

TK


"...I was born game, and I intend to go out that way." -- Rooster Cogburn


#5 AMBusam

AMBusam

    Member

  • Members
  • 63 posts

Posted 23 June 2009 - 10:52 AM

I don't think this instance is much like the difficulty that has been encountered with the costal objectives. But I think the contrast can inform here. Since you brought it up I looked over all the cards to compare grammar.

War Against the Pirates reads: "...at least two forts and/or cities in coastal provinces (excluding your kingdom)." It pluralizes the statement with 'provinces', obviously meaning multiple. Sea Power uses the same form.

We can assume the game maintains unity of form for intention. If the Border Wars card is intended to refer to multiple provinces, it would use the same grammar as the sea cards. Since it does not ("...a savage province..." rather than " ...savage provinces..."), the only logical conclusion is that it refers to a single savage province.  



#6 Tim Kelly

Tim Kelly

    Member

  • Members
  • 281 posts

Posted 23 June 2009 - 04:50 PM

An EXCELLENT point!  Cybernex, where are you, pal?

TK


"...I was born game, and I intend to go out that way." -- Rooster Cogburn


#7 Necronis

Necronis

    Member

  • Members
  • 118 posts

Posted 25 June 2009 - 11:56 AM

     Sounds perfect- thanks for the legwork.



#8 Columbob

Columbob

    Member

  • Members
  • 147 posts

Posted 01 July 2009 - 01:47 AM

So far we've played it to mean any savage province, not just a single one. In games with fewer than 4, it becomes a lot trickier to achieve otherwise.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS