Jump to content



Photo

more questions about bold and support


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 Dirge

Dirge

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 24 November 2008 - 11:50 AM

can a unit increase it's bold status if it occupy's a stronghold and its in a bold formation? for example if an archer is in a stronghold and it is supported by two other units will it get bold*2. please help



#2 toddrew

toddrew

    Member

  • Members
  • 620 posts

Posted 24 November 2008 - 01:03 PM

Yup, you've got it - bold "stacks".



#3 Germ

Germ

    Member

  • Members
  • 90 posts

Posted 24 November 2008 - 02:08 PM

Replace the archer in your example with an Iron Dwarf Crossbow unit, and you've got 3 stacked levels of ''boldness''!!



#4 ColtsFan76

ColtsFan76

    Rules Guru

  • Members
  • 1,040 posts

Posted 24 November 2008 - 11:38 PM

Germ said:

Replace the archer in your example with an Iron Dwarf Crossbow unit, and you've got 3 stacked levels of ''boldness''!!

And play a Lore card that gives +1 Bold and you can be up to Bold 4!



#5 toddrew

toddrew

    Member

  • Members
  • 620 posts

Posted 25 November 2008 - 01:32 AM

Which leads to the play of the bold trump card: Fearless.  Bold inifinity :)



#6 HonorforONEFilms

HonorforONEFilms

    Member

  • Members
  • 115 posts

Posted 25 November 2008 - 03:09 AM

So if I'm bold four can I ignore four flags?



#7 ColtsFan76

ColtsFan76

    Rules Guru

  • Members
  • 1,040 posts

Posted 25 November 2008 - 04:59 AM

HonorforONEFilms said:

So if I'm bold four can I ignore four flags?

Yes, that is correct.  Bold X = X Flags ignored.



#8 HonorforONEFilms

HonorforONEFilms

    Member

  • Members
  • 115 posts

Posted 25 November 2008 - 05:43 AM

Sweet. That changes some stuff.



#9 TylerT

TylerT

    Member

  • Members
  • 168 posts

Posted 25 November 2008 - 07:54 AM

If dwarf unit is on a rampart next to a stronghold with two suporting units your bold5! add a lore card your Bold six!



#10 toddrew

toddrew

    Member

  • Members
  • 620 posts

Posted 25 November 2008 - 08:03 AM

TylerT said:

If dwarf unit is on a rampart next to a stronghold with two suporting units your bold5! add a lore card your Bold six!

A tad bold happy there  - bold4 and 5 respectively.



#11 ColtsFan76

ColtsFan76

    Rules Guru

  • Members
  • 1,040 posts

Posted 25 November 2008 - 08:38 AM

TylerT said:

If dwarf unit is on a rampart next to a stronghold with two suporting units your bold5! add a lore card your Bold six!

The original OP asked about a Stronghold and Support to get to Bold 2.

Then we added the Dwarves to make it 3.

Then we added the Lore card to make it 4.

So switching the Dwarve to a rampart (or any adjacent landmark) to get the +1 "influence" of the stronghold over adjacent hexes, you are only at 5 bold.



#12 Dirge

Dirge

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 27 November 2008 - 04:26 AM

Thanks for all the reply's everyone.



#13 HonorforONEFilms

HonorforONEFilms

    Member

  • Members
  • 115 posts

Posted 27 November 2008 - 06:38 AM

It talks about this in the rulebook. I'll look up the page number.



#14 Furelli

Furelli

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 29 November 2008 - 01:51 AM

Make the Dwarf unit a Clan Chief Dwarf unit and the bold just gets bigger.

 

Furelli



#15 sirvolkar

sirvolkar

    Member

  • Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 29 November 2008 - 04:56 AM

Enough talk of damnable dwarves!  What about glorious gobbo's?!?!  A mighty 3 Bold for a strongholded, supported, magicked group?  4 if you give them a musician, right?  Plus they're twice as fast when "tactically withdrawing" from the enemy should their Boldness prove "unwise".

Surely the world must realise the might of the green skinned mercs-with-a-mouth-but-no-bite?

 



#16 HonorforONEFilms

HonorforONEFilms

    Member

  • Members
  • 115 posts

Posted 30 November 2008 - 07:51 AM

Stupid goblins. Unless you keep them in triangles there worthless. 



#17 toddrew

toddrew

    Member

  • Members
  • 620 posts

Posted 30 November 2008 - 02:32 PM

honorforONEFilms wrote:

Stupid goblins. Unless you keep them in triangles there worthless. 

 

Plodding dwarves...good luck building a battle plan around those ass-draggers



#18 toddrew

toddrew

    Member

  • Members
  • 620 posts

Posted 30 November 2008 - 02:58 PM

Dirge said:

can a unit increase it's bold status if it occupy's a stronghold and its in a bold formation? for example if an archer is in a stronghold and it is supported by two other units will it get bold*2. please help

Yup - "bold" stacks.  Any type of bold that can be had is added to any other type of bold that can be had.  In the example you have there, bold1 from support + bold1 from Stronghold gives a bold2 to those archers.  If other circumstances also allow a flag to be ignored, those would stack on top. 

Only exception (that really isn't an exception) is that a unit which is supported by two friendly units is bold1, but a unit that is also supported by two more units is not bold2 - still bold 1.  A unit receives the same benefit of support regardless the number of units providing that support, as long as it is 2 or more.  If a goblin band is involved, it provides half support, but if 2 or 3 units are also providing support to the unit in question - still bold1.  The embedded drummers are different - the provide bold1, and if that embedded unit is also supported, bold2.

Once one has played often enough, it really does become second nature.  Very consistent rules, not any exceptions really.  (well, except creatures ;) ).



#19 Germ

Germ

    Member

  • Members
  • 90 posts

Posted 30 November 2008 - 03:39 PM

HonorforONEFilms said:

Stupid goblins. Unless you keep them in triangles there worthless. 

Young and inexperienced you are. Much to learn you have. Lethal Goblins are when in the hands of a Master.



#20 paladinz

paladinz

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 30 November 2008 - 03:40 PM

Another question that came up today:

My friend had a bold unit and I rolled 2 retreat flags against it.  It could not retreat because there were friendly units behind it, so it lost 1 figure.  At that point, my friend argued that he could fight back because he was still bold and I said he could not because, while he was bold (or bold-1), it would be against the spirit of the game to use that logic because in reality he SHOULD have been retreating, not getting to attack back.

What is the correct ruling on this?






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS