Jump to content



Photo

Outbreak OL card


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 LordPermafrost

LordPermafrost

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 22 February 2014 - 04:11 PM

My play group were trying to decide if outbreak effects the hero it target and each hero with in three spaces, or just any other hero with in three spaces.



#2 ramblur

ramblur

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 22 February 2014 - 08:33 PM

The card apparently reads:
Play this card at the start of an infected hero's turn. Each hero within 3 spaces of that hero must test [might]. Each hero that fails gains 1 infection token and then suffers [damage] equal to the number of infection tokens he has in his play area.

 

I'd rule in favor of it including the chosen hero, as it doesn't say "each other hero."


  • rfisha likes this

#3 LordPermafrost

LordPermafrost

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 22 February 2014 - 11:33 PM

it's this part that is open to interpretation "Each hero within 3 spaces of that hero must test [might]". I first though like you do that it would effect all of the heroes but the wording could or be read as only the other heroes test [might] as the target hero isn't a hero with in 3 spaces of it's self



#4 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 23 February 2014 - 02:22 AM

No open interpretation. No "other" in the text. All heroes in range, including the first one are affected.
An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#5 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,609 posts

Posted 23 February 2014 - 09:23 AM

but the wording could be read as only the other heroes test [might] as the target hero isn't a hero with in 3 spaces of it's self


Why isn't the target hero within 3 spaces of himself? 0 is less than 3.
We've always played that the figure at the center of an effect is always within X of himself, where applicable, unless the effect specifically says "other [heroes|monsters|figures]"



#6 BentoSan

BentoSan

    Member

  • Members
  • 380 posts

Posted 24 February 2014 - 04:16 AM

The card writing is similar to the runemasters "break the rune" skill which was ruled that the runemaster is within 3 spaces of himself, hence he targets himself with his own attack (which makes the card not worth buying in my opinion).

 

That makes me think that this card indeed also targets the hero whos turn it is.


Edited by BentoSan, 24 February 2014 - 04:16 AM.


#7 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 485 posts

Posted 02 March 2014 - 05:03 PM

Yeah, I'm fairly certain FFG has clarified on multiple occasions that a hero is always within X of itself. They also have some cards which explicitly mention "each other hero" for cases where the originating hero shouldn't be included.



#8 Krawallburste

Krawallburste

    Member

  • Members
  • 108 posts

Posted 07 March 2014 - 07:35 AM

i had a similar issue with one of the prophets abilities, where a hero with the insight token could suffer 2 fatigue to reroll a missed attack. there too, the wording was a hero within 3 spaces of the hero with the insight token.

 

justin answered, that (although not written like on other cards "including yourself") ofcourse a hero is always within 3 spaces to himself



#9 ERRA

ERRA

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 07 March 2014 - 10:08 AM

So, in roleplaying words: If a hero is infected and Outbreak card is played on him, the outbreak of his infection starts and he suffers from it more then before, infecting all other heroes near him.


“Moonlight drowns out all but the brightest stars.” 

                                                       - J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS