Jump to content



Photo

I have questions regarding some unclarified specifics.


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Tasressurect

Tasressurect

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 19 February 2014 - 11:34 PM

1: Leather Armour - ( +1 Health) / Brown Die)

Is this intended to grant the wearer of this equipment an additional Brown Die for every defense roll?

 

2: Avric Hero Ability - ( Heals all Heroes in range of 3 for Surge : 1)

A: Is this ability active on ALL surges, regardless of if they have already been used?

B: Can this ability be stacked, upon rolling multiple surges?

 

3: Spiritspeaker Skill - Vigor (Each attack recovers all heroes 1 fatigue per surge)

Similar to question 2A, is this passive active on all surge rolls, regardless of if they have already been used?

 

4: Death On The Wing

A: Encounter 1: Is a Hero defeat condition viable if they are standing beside each other while encaved by boulders, the side of the map, and enemy minions?

- I had a tough call to make where my 2nd Hero was knocked out, and I chose to revive him and attempt to clear the boulder, at which point, as explained in the conditions, I lost the encounter.

B: Encounter 2: I have ran this previously, and house rules (attempting to understand the intended game rules and come to an agreement) where the Villagers did not need to be activated UNLESS another Hero or Monster was inside the same room. We concluded that they were allowed to just "chill there" until someone came into the room, which as specified, forces them to attack.

 

What are the conditions? May they be moved of free will if there is no one in the room? Must they be left where they are, until someone enters?

 



#2 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 20 February 2014 - 12:07 AM

1. in addition
2. stacked. No surge may be used more than once.
3. I don't have the card handy, so I am not sure what to answer.
4.
A. Defeat only enforces at the end of a player's turn, so if you revive him, you'd better find a way to wipe out or move any figure or obstacle that makes him totally surrounded. Of course, if he stands up by itself, he will finish his turn surrounded and thus lose the encounter for the heroes.
B. The Villagers only activate when a monster or hero is on their tile. I don't quite understand your question.
An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#3 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,616 posts

Posted 20 February 2014 - 07:23 AM

1: Leather Armour - ( +1 Health) / Brown Die)
Is this intended to grant the wearer of this equipment an additional Brown Die for every defense roll?


Yes.


2: Avric Hero Ability - ( Heals all Heroes in range of 3 for Surge : 1)
A: Is this ability active on ALL surges, regardless of if they have already been used?
B: Can this ability be stacked, upon rolling multiple surges?


The ability in question grants "(Surge): Recover 1 (Wound)" to all attacks made by heroes within 3 spaces of Avric. This is a surge ability. Normally surge abilities are found on the weapon you're using to attack with, but sometimes they come from skills or, in this case, Avric's hero ability. All surge abilities follow the same rules:
1) you must spend a surge to activate the listed effect.
2) you may only spend 1 surge per surge ability on any given attack.
3) surges spent elsewhere cannot be spent on this ability.

So, to answer your questions:

A: The ability is always available to any attacking hero within 3 spaces of Avric (as long as Avric is not KO'd.) Surge abilities are not "active on surges" they are activated BY spending surges. So the attacking hero can always choose to spend a surge to recover one wound, but if he doesn't spend the surge doing that, he doesn't recover the wound.

B: The ability can only be used once, like any surge ability. You cannot spend multiple surges to recover multiple wounds on the same attack roll. However, if you attack twice, you could in theory spend a surge from each attack to recover 1 wound each.

3: Spiritspeaker Skill - Vigor (Each attack recovers all heroes 1 fatigue per surge)
Similar to question 2A, is this passive active on all surge rolls, regardless of if they have already been used?


Same as Avric's ability, above. Surge abilities are not active on "surge rolls." They are active on an attack. If that attack rolls no surges then you have nothing to fuel the ability so it obviously won't go off. If you do roll surges, then you can choose which surge abilities to spend them on.

The skill is passive in the sense that this surge ability gets added to every attack the Spiritspeaker makes, but he must still roll and then spend a surge to use it. He cannot spend more than one surge on this ability per attack.


4: Death On The Wing
A: Encounter 1: Is a Hero defeat condition viable if they are standing beside each other while encaved by boulders, the side of the map, and enemy minions?


Yes, the heroes lose in this condition. The heroes lose if any one hero is surrounded by "figures, boulders or the edge of the map." Other heroes are figures, as long as they aren't KO'd. (If they are KO'd, they are replaced by a hero token, and therefore there is no figure in that space.)


What are the conditions? May they be moved of free will if there is no one in the room? Must they be left where they are, until someone enters?


The guards in this quest may only be activated if a hero or monster is on the same tile. If there is no hero or monster on the tile, the guard may not be activated. If there IS a hero or a monster on the same tile, the guard MAY be activated. The hero player controlling the guard may choose to have him do nothing, if he likes.

#4 jadedbacon

jadedbacon

    Member

  • Members
  • 58 posts

Posted 20 February 2014 - 09:05 AM

 

2: Avric Hero Ability - ( Heals all Heroes in range of 3 for Surge : 1)
A: Is this ability active on ALL surges, regardless of if they have already been used?
B: Can this ability be stacked, upon rolling multiple surges?


The ability in question grants "(Surge): Recover 1 (Wound)" to all attacks made by heroes within 3 spaces of Avric. This is a surge ability. Normally surge abilities are found on the weapon you're using to attack with, but sometimes they come from skills or, in this case, Avric's hero ability. All surge abilities follow the same rules:
1) you must spend a surge to activate the listed effect.
2) you may only spend 1 surge per surge ability on any given attack.
3) surges spent elsewhere cannot be spent on this ability.

So, to answer your questions:

A: The ability is always available to any attacking hero within 3 spaces of Avric (as long as Avric is not KO'd.) Surge abilities are not "active on surges" they are activated BY spending surges. So the attacking hero can always choose to spend a surge to recover one wound, but if he doesn't spend the surge doing that, he doesn't recover the wound.

B: The ability can only be used once, like any surge ability. You cannot spend multiple surges to recover multiple wounds on the same attack roll. However, if you attack twice, you could in theory spend a surge from each attack to recover 1 wound each.

3: Spiritspeaker Skill - Vigor (Each attack recovers all heroes 1 fatigue per surge)
Similar to question 2A, is this passive active on all surge rolls, regardless of if they have already been used?


Same as Avric's ability, above. Surge abilities are not active on "surge rolls." They are active on an attack. If that attack rolls no surges then you have nothing to fuel the ability so it obviously won't go off. If you do roll surges, then you can choose which surge abilities to spend them on.

The skill is passive in the sense that this surge ability gets added to every attack the Spiritspeaker makes, but he must still roll and then spend a surge to use it. He cannot spend more than one surge on this ability per attack.

 

 

Steve-O has it right on the money.  Only one thing to add, surges cannot be spent if the attack is a miss, unless the surge effect makes the attack not a miss.  

 

For example, if the X is rolled, no surges can be spent, unless you use some other effect to reroll the X and the reroll isn't an X.  

 

If there's not enough Range to hit the monster, the attack is a miss.  If the weapon or some other skill/equipment the hero is using can provide enough extra range to make the attack a hit, then surges must be spent on increasing the range first, then any additional surges can be spent on whatever else is available.  This also applies to attacking while adjacent to a Shadow Dragon and needing to overcome the Shadow ability.


Never believe in "never"

- Algus Sadalfas


#5 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 486 posts

Posted 20 February 2014 - 09:29 AM

Here's a bit of a tip for interpreting things that say "Each attack gains: (surge): Some ability"

 

Just imagine adding that line to the bottom of the weapon card when it applies (heroes are within range, decide to activate the skill by spending fatigue, etc.)

 

 

 

The guards in this quest may only be activated if a hero or monster is on the same tile. If there is no hero or monster on the tile, the guard may not be activated. If there IS a hero or a monster on the same tile, the guard MAY be activated. The hero player controlling the guard may choose to have him do nothing, if he likes.

 

Not quite. The guards activate. There is no "may" about it. The quest rules specifically state:

Each guard on the same tile as either a hero or a monster activates at the end of the last hero turn each round; they are controlled by the hero player who takes his turn last. When activated, each guard moves directly toward the closest monster. If he ends his movement adjacent to it, he performs an attack targeting it. When 2 monsters are equally close, the heroes choose which monster the guard moves toward.


  • skidlz likes this

#6 Tasressurect

Tasressurect

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 20 February 2014 - 11:36 AM

It's just that there's already so many abilities to spend surges on, I wasn't sure if they gave a freebie or not.



#7 Whitewing

Whitewing

    Member

  • Members
  • 362 posts

Posted 20 February 2014 - 04:24 PM

It's just that there's already so many abilities to spend surges on, I wasn't sure if they gave a freebie or not.

 

They do not. Obtaining additional surges is a very good goal for equipping yourselves, and also obtaining gear with powerful but limited surge options (like the bearded axe for act 1). Getting your hands on a weapon with green dice is a very good way to go: and you absolutely don't have to spend surges on your weapon's surge ability if you have something else to spend it on.



#8 rfisha

rfisha

    Member

  • Members
  • 223 posts

Posted 20 February 2014 - 09:43 PM

 

 

Not quite. The guards activate. There is no "may" about it. The quest rules specifically state:

Each guard on the same tile as either a hero or a monster activates at the end of the last hero turn each round; they are controlled by the hero player who takes his turn last. When activated, each guard moves directly toward the closest monster. If he ends his movement adjacent to it, he performs an attack targeting it. When 2 monsters are equally close, the heroes choose which monster the guard moves toward.

 

 

I was going to say the same thing.  I actually lost due to this rule (well that's what I am running with anyway).  The guard moves into the line of fire and was toast on the OL's turn.



#9 Tasressurect

Tasressurect

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 23 February 2014 - 01:21 AM

Another question:

 

For Syndrael's Hero Passive

 

 - Recover 2 Fatigue if you have not moved during your turn.

 

Is this applicable if you have been revived by another player, or if you stand up, assuming you do not move from your location?

If yes, is it still applicable if you are revived or you stand up in a different location, because your figure's location has since been occupied?



#10 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 23 February 2014 - 02:26 AM

If you are revived yes (if you had to be placed in another location, it is not a move and did not occur during your turn anyway).
For stand up, I don't have the rulebook with me, but I seem to have read that nothing can be done after standup.
An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#11 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,616 posts

Posted 23 February 2014 - 09:19 AM

I agree with Robin regarding Syndreal's passive.

Do note, however, that if you spend your entire hero turn KO'd (choosing not to stand up and then everyone passes it over to the OL's turn) you won't get any fatigue back. No abilities can be used while your hero is KO'd.

#12 Tasressurect

Tasressurect

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 23 February 2014 - 11:05 AM

Alright, fair enough.



#13 Tasressurect

Tasressurect

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 25 February 2014 - 11:18 AM

1: Can the Overlord use Blood Rage on a lieutenant?

 

- I was going to during the Act 1 Interlude, but didn't get the opportunity that I was looking for, so it arose again in "The Twin Idols", where I didn't necessarily need to use it at the time I had attempted to. Although for future games, it would be interesting to know.

 

2: Staff of Shadows says that it can be used at any time, even if it is not the Overlord's turn. Is this primarily intended for the re-rolling purposes, or drawing a OL card as well?



#14 Whitewing

Whitewing

    Member

  • Members
  • 362 posts

Posted 25 February 2014 - 11:22 AM

1. Yes, the overlord can use blood rage on a lieutenant. It's generally not worth it, but it can be smart on the right maps.

 

2. Both



#15 Tasressurect

Tasressurect

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 01 March 2014 - 02:11 AM

We really wish to completely clarify movement, adjacent attacking & LOS attacking around corners.

 

Diagonal Spaces

1: Where the black lines from the corner of a map tile remove a white intersection, from one white line to another white line; does this mean the two spaces are not adjacent, not in line of sight, and cannot be moved from one location to the other with 1 movement point.

 

In the rulebook on Page 9, it states that this is possible. In the updated rulebook on Page 2, it contradicts itself by saying the exact opposite.

 

Whichever triumphs the other, do the rules stay the same for:

Squares marked with red lines, Squares diagonal from each other marked with red lines. (For Example: Castle Daerion)

 

---------------------------

When using lieutenant Alric, how is his overpower ability used?

 

2: May he only perform a move action, and then it ends, and then he tests attributes to swap locations?

 

3: May he perform a single move action, and then it ends, and he passes attribute tests to each adjacent hero from his location? May he do this even if he passes the first test, and is this still considered 1 *arrow* action?

 

4: May he perform a move action, interrupt it with a swap, then an attack, and continue his move action?

 

------------------------------

Source: http://www.fantasyfl...on FAQ_v1.2.pdf


Edited by Tasressurect, 01 March 2014 - 02:24 AM.


#16 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 486 posts

Posted 02 March 2014 - 08:22 PM

Diagonal Spaces

1: Where the black lines from the corner of a map tile remove a white intersection, from one white line to another white line; does this mean the two spaces are not adjacent, not in line of sight, and cannot be moved from one location to the other with 1 movement point.

 

In the rulebook on Page 9, it states that this is possible. In the updated rulebook on Page 2, it contradicts itself by saying the exact opposite.

 

The FAQ is referring specifically to spaces which are orthogonally adjacent (not diagonally), so there is no contradiction. This situation occurs sometimes when pieces are joined together where they sit next to each other but don't have the full pathway open (such as in A Fat Goblin encounter 1 between the Farm tile and the one north of it). Almost all diagonal movement is fine. 

 

If you do a bit of searching on the forums here, you'll see an image which breaks down all of the line of sight examples and shows what is / is not valid.

 

 

When using lieutenant Alric, how is his overpower ability used?

 

Let's break it down for clarity:

 

  • "Sir Alric Farrow performs a move action." This does nothing except give him movement points equal to his speed, which he can then spend during his activation.
  • "Each time he moves into a space adjacent to a hero, Alric may test (might). ..." This specifically says each time he moves into (i.e. enters using a movement point) a space adjacent to a hero. It's not "after moving, test for each hero previously moved past". Note that he can't have it trigger from trading spaces, or he'd theoretically be able to do it almost indefinitely (Might 5 is a pretty high chance of success) and FFG seems to have specifically avoided the phrasing "enters a space" (which they use in a lot of other cases) in favor of "moves into a space".

So #4 would be possible, while #2 and #3 aren't how it works.

And since there is no cost for Sir Alric, he can basically use this for both of his move actions if he so chose.



#17 C2K

C2K

    Member

  • Members
  • 128 posts

Posted 03 March 2014 - 10:56 AM


 

3: Spiritspeaker Skill - Vigor (Each attack recovers all heroes 1 fatigue per surge)

Similar to question 2A, is this passive active on all surge rolls, regardless of if they have already been used?

 

You can only trigger it once on each attack.  You can use multiple surges to activate various surge abilities in one attack, but you can never activate the same surge ability twice in the same attack (unless otherwise stated on the card, but I have yet to see this). 

 

For example, if you roll two surges and you possess Vigor, you can spend 1 surge to activate Vigor, but you cannot not use the other surge to activate Vigor again because you have already used Vigor for this specific attack.  You can, however, perform another attack, and if you roll another surge in this 2nd attack use it to activate Vigor for that attack. 


Edited by C2K, 03 March 2014 - 10:57 AM.





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS