I vote for:
Not because it is necessarily the nastiest, but because:
- it makes a complete mess of the Siege of Cair Andros if it reshuffles the locations
- it's not clear how it works with the Captains/To the Tower in Morgul Vale
this has been answered by Caleb:
You count the Captains - but they cannot be removed - so it makes for an extra card revealed when this treachery shows up! i.e., you count the captain - but don't remove them.
I have seen this ruling referred to online, but I haven't actually seen the ruling itself - do you have a link? Presumably you would also count "To the Tower", by this ruling, since it is also in the staging area and cannot leave it.
I struggle to understand the rationale of this ruling giving the "Then" clause for the second sentence.
Caleb answers by e-mail, so there would never be a link.
I e-mailed him to ask about To The Tower, specifically, and will post his response once I hear back.
The "equal number" part can be confusing; does it refer to the equal number you counted or the equal number you shuffled? Caleb ruled it's equal to the number you counted, not shuffled. The card could be clearer, for sure.
My rule of thumb is, when in doubt, go for what makes it more difficult for the players. There are lots of folks trying to contort cards to make them do what they want it to do (Hands Upon the Bow is a prime example), or even this one. So, basically, if it makes it harder for me, I'll typically go with that interpretation. If it gets clarified that I was wrong later, all the better!
Edited by Dain Ironfoot, 19 February 2014 - 02:17 PM.