Jump to content



Photo

critical hit question


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Krynn007

Krynn007

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,092 posts

Posted 16 February 2014 - 02:12 PM

So you get hit with a crit, and draw direct hit, does that equal 3 total Dmg?
1 for the crit hit and 2 for the direct hit card?
Or
Does it just count as 2 total Dmg?

Do crit cards count as Dmg to your hull or do you just take the effect of the card?

Rebels

4 xwing, 2 awings, 2 bwings,1 ywing, 1 Falcon, 1hwk, 1 ewing, 2 z95, 1 transport, 1 Tantive,

Imperials

6 tie/ft, 2 squints, 1 aces, 2 bombers, 1 tie adv, 1 shuttle, 1 Firespray, 2 phantom, 1 tie defender


#2 Pygon

Pygon

    Member

  • Members
  • 239 posts

Posted 16 February 2014 - 02:28 PM

Under most circumstances you only draw a damage card when the damage consumes your shields and actually damages your hull.  You draw a face up damage card when a crit gets to your hull, otherwise you draw a face down damage card.

 

If the face up damage card says it counts as 2 damage, then treat it like 2 damage cards.  If you have the same number of damage cards or more as your hull, the ship is destroyed.

 

Each facup card does count as 1 damage card on your hull, unless it counts as 2.

 

Rarely do you draw damage cards when you still have shields left.  Proton bombs are one major exception.  For those, you apply damage cards outright, according to the proton bomb card - it isn't expressed as 'damage', but simply applying face up cards.  If the face up cards determine that you have zero hull left (they apply to hull, NOT shields), the ship is destroyed.

 

I think I got that right, please correct my wording otherwise.


Edited by Pygon, 16 February 2014 - 02:29 PM.

Core/Wave 1: 4 X-Wings, 3 Y-Wings, 8 TIE Fighters, 3 TIE Advanceds; Wave 2: 2 YT-1300s, 3 A-Wings, 2 Firesprays, 3 TIE Interceptors

Wave 3: 3 B-Wings, 3 TIE Bombers, 3 HWK-290s, 2 Lambda Shuttles; Imperial Aces: 2 Royal Guard Interceptors, 2 Elite Interceptors

Huge ships: 1 Tantive IV, 2 Transports, 2 alternate X-Wings

Wave 4: 3 E-Wings, 6 Z95s, 3 TIE Defenders, 3 TIE Phantoms


#3 StevenO

StevenO

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,845 posts

Posted 16 February 2014 - 02:32 PM

You do NOT actually suffer "hull damage" rather any time you suffer a hit/crit that is not cancelled by evasion dice or negated by Shield dice you are dealt a damage card.  When cards = hull the ship is destroyed and it doesn't matter if the cards are face down or face up (crit) EXCEPT for the Direct Hit card which counts as two cards when it is face up.



#4 Forensicus

Forensicus

    Member

  • Members
  • 491 posts

Posted 16 February 2014 - 03:15 PM

It says on the card: "This card counts as 2 damage against your hull" so it simpelt counts as 2

2014 X-Wing Regional Champion (CPH, Denmark)

 Fleet: 1 x [YT-1300] -  5 x [X-Wing] - 4 x [A-Wing] -2 x [Y-Wing] - 2 x [HWK-290] - 4 x [B-Wing] - 1 x [Transport] - 1 x [Tantive IV]: 2 x [Firespray-31] - 8 x [Tie Fighters] - 6 x [Tie Interceptor] - 3 x [Tie Advanced] - 3 x [TIE-Bomber] - 3 x [Lambda Shuttle]

"Hangars": BattleFoam P.A.C.K. 432 & P.A.C.K. 216 with custom & pluck foams "Battlefields": 3 x Gale Force 9 Mats


#5 negative9

negative9

    Member

  • Members
  • 130 posts

Posted 16 February 2014 - 04:03 PM

Just wanted to add, and clarify the sequence for you.

 

1. if you get hit with a crit OR a regular damage, apply it to your shields.  Don't draw cards, just remove the shield token.

2. If you have no shields left:  then draw a face down damage card for each regular hit

    and a face up damage card for each crit.

3.  Face up and face down cards count as hits against your hull.

4.  The direct hit card when face up, counts as 2 hits to your hull.

5.  When you have the same or more cards as your hull value, remove your ship.

 

e.g.  you are in an x-wing---you have one face down card, and a face up direct hit crit card.  you have 3 damage

        to your hull, and you are now exploded.

        OR, you have any combination of 3 face up or down cards, you are also dead.



#6 VanorDM

VanorDM

    Rules Ninja

  • Members
  • 3,533 posts

Posted 17 February 2014 - 09:33 AM

Just to add something because it does come up but not often.

If you have an ability that lets you flip a Ship or just any Crit over, such as a R5 Astromech and you flip the Direct Hit! it now only counts as 1 damage.




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS