Jump to content



Photo

Lieutenant packs


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 spalanzani

spalanzani

    Member

  • Members
  • 813 posts

Posted 15 February 2014 - 04:43 AM

Morning everyone,

 

Apologies if this has already been asked, I've just done a quick trawl through the forum but, as I can't figure out how to search the thing anymore, I've come up empty.

 

From a casual point of view, is having every lieutenant pack really necessary? I've currently got Valyndra, with Queen Ariad and Zachareth both on order, but I'm wondering if I really need them all. I mean, aside from the joy of having a plastic miniature instead of a cardboard chit on my dungeon, of course. 

 

I seem to remember reading somewhere that you only need one, because the OL cards included are all the same? But I can't find that thread anymore. 

 

Anyhow, thanks in advance!


www.spalanz.com - everything you never wanted to know about me, in one place.


#2 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 15 February 2014 - 05:11 AM

There never is a need or necessity in having an expansion.

I don't know the detail about the cards, but it seems that each leutenant have specific cards.

After what I have seen on the forums, the lieutenant packs add a nice variety to the game.

 

I am waiting for the packs to come out in French - but I am not sure that I will purchase all of them.


An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#3 rugal

rugal

    Member

  • Members
  • 645 posts

Posted 15 February 2014 - 07:26 AM

Each plot deck is unique, as the miniature.

 

I don't know where you saw this, but it's for sure not true.

 

So, in theory, all lieutenants are needed. I'm gonna by them all !



#4 amoshias

amoshias

    Member

  • Members
  • 194 posts

Posted 15 February 2014 - 07:44 AM

You can only choose 1 lieutenant per campaign, so having 5 lieutenants available gives you options at the campaign start, but after that doesn't do anything for you. I'd say pick the one you want for a campaign, buy it, then when you're playing the next campaign do it again. 



#5 spalanzani

spalanzani

    Member

  • Members
  • 813 posts

Posted 15 February 2014 - 11:58 AM

Thanks for the responses guys! Looks like it's time to crack open the wallet...!

www.spalanz.com - everything you never wanted to know about me, in one place.


#6 stver7804

stver7804

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 15 February 2014 - 01:17 PM

Quick correction to Amoshias' post - there can be several lieutenants in a campaign, especially when adding expansions to a campaign, but you can only use one plot deck in a campaign, and therefore, only summon one agent into a campaign. Also, the lieutenant pack rules state you can't summon an agent into a quest where the agent appears as the lieutenant.

#7 Glorious Strategist

Glorious Strategist

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts

Posted 17 February 2014 - 07:33 PM

Hello Everyone,

 

I don't mean to hijack this thread, but I have a question in regards to these lieutenant packs as well. I'm looking to pick up Descent 2nd Edition this week when I get paid, and was thinking about purchasing a lieutenant pack or 2 along with it (would like to purchase everything at once to save on shipping). Being a complete newbie to the game, I'm not entirely sure which packs are compatible with the core game, and which ones (if any) are limited to the expansions due to the plot/story lines. Can anyone suggest a couple of packs that would be a wise investment for someone purchasing the core set and just getting started in the game? Thank you in advance!



#8 Ringskipper

Ringskipper

    Member

  • Members
  • 187 posts

Posted 17 February 2014 - 08:03 PM

You can get any of the LT Packs and they will work with any of the expansions. :) The only things to keep in mind are:

- Baron Zachareth can NOT be summoned as an agent in the core game's campaign (The Shadow Rune), but his plot cards can still be used.

- Belthir is useful ONLY with the Basic I Overlord deck (which is the deck in the core game -- Labyrinth of Ruin, an expansion, includes a Basic II deck)

 

I've heard that Alric Farrow or Valyndra are good starting-LTs. Valyndra and Bol'Goreth (and the other larger LTs or two-packs) are a bit pricier than the typical 8.95 ones, though. I think Belthir's also a good choice for starters, as his deck is pretty self-explanatory.

 

Ultimately, it depends on your own personal tastes. If you like goblins, there's Splig. If you like vampires, there's Eliza. If you like big ol' trolls, there's Bol'Goreth. They're all pretty awesome and work pretty well together.



#9 Glorious Strategist

Glorious Strategist

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts

Posted 17 February 2014 - 08:12 PM

Thank you very much for the quick and thorough reply. You also saved me some money as Zachareth was one of the packs I was looking at purchasing. I think at this point I will probably go with Belthir and Alric Farrow.



#10 BentoSan

BentoSan

    Member

  • Members
  • 390 posts

Posted 17 February 2014 - 09:20 PM

You could always house rule zachareth as being able to be played, the reason he isn't allowed to be played is purely story driven.

#11 rfisha

rfisha

    Member

  • Members
  • 240 posts

Posted 18 February 2014 - 02:34 AM

I think Merrick has a good plot deck as well if you are interested in the mechanics as well as the figure.

 

But Valyndra is the best all round - cool figure & powerful when summoned.  Nice power based plot deck.



#12 rugal

rugal

    Member

  • Members
  • 645 posts

Posted 18 February 2014 - 06:00 AM

I do think Splig is also really powerfull.

Combine him with Kobolds in act 2 and it's a an entire team dying each round



#13 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 496 posts

Posted 18 February 2014 - 10:18 AM

And remember that the restriction for Zachareth in the Shadow Rune is only that he can't be summoned as an Agent. All of the other cards are available for use. Some might even say that it's not that big of a deal if they aren't too worried about summoning Agents (as they can be a pretty big Threat expenditure, especially if they die).






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS