Jump to content



Photo

Some questions regarding Death on the Wing


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Necrohexel

Necrohexel

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 14 February 2014 - 08:30 PM

Hey guys!

So me and my group are going through our first campaign and of course some questions have been coming up. We're headed into the last quest from the 1st act and it's probably going to be Death on the Wing.

Upon reading the 2nd encounter tho, there's a detail that seems odd. The rules about the guards say: Treat them as hero figures with the following exceptions: they cannot recover health, are immune to conditions and pass every attribute test. Each guard on the same tile as either a hero or a monster activates at the end of the last hero turn each round... and then some other details.

 

So the issue I see here is that the OL can simply pick a ranged group for the waterfall area and camp them at the entrance of the Gatehouse tile and shoot the guards without them ever activating, is that right? Is this intended?

Or does the fact that they are treated has hero figures also triggers the rule that lets them activate with a hero on the same tile?

 

Thanks!



#2 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,628 posts

Posted 14 February 2014 - 08:47 PM

The guards cannot trigger each other.  A token being treated as a hero counts as a hero for attacks, hero abilities and OL cards.  Not quest rules (unless the quest rule specifically say so.)

 

However, an actual hero could go stand on the tile with the guard, allowing the guard to activate and fight.



#3 Whitewing

Whitewing

    Member

  • Members
  • 378 posts

Posted 14 February 2014 - 10:19 PM

If the overlord uses ranged monsters to do that, it's up to the heroes to rush their asses over there and take them out or activate the tiles to get the guards in the fight. Ranged monsters are a valid option for the overlord, you are correct that the guards do not activate unless there is a monster or hero sharing their tile.



#4 Necrohexel

Necrohexel

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 15 February 2014 - 01:19 PM

Ok thanks :) I guess their lower damage output is self balancing by itself






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS