Jump to content



Photo

Invading enemy hex containing only routed units


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 nyarmondt

nyarmondt

    Member

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 13 February 2014 - 11:58 PM

I recently purchased this game & after a struggle with the manual and 2 actual playthroughs, we had encountered a situation for which we couldn't find a solution.

 

This is the situation:

I had played the n°2 order card (activate hex, move troops in from up till 2 spaces away - supremacy: do the same, but no battle allowed)

 

Step 1 was a success & I had supremacy.

 

The enemy had retreated from previous hex & had 2 bowman standing up in the hex where he had retreated to. With my hero and his object, I was able to rout the remaining 2 bowman, and then I rushed in a berserker of mine.

 

Question is, is that invasion still considered as a battle or not?

 

 

Since routed units in a hex can not partake in a battle and there were no more other units present, I was inclined to say it was a legal move...

 

Any of the more expirienced players who can shine a light upon this?



#2 poet1001

poet1001

    Member

  • Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 14 February 2014 - 03:16 AM

According to the rules - as soon as you meet up with the other player on the same hex battle happens, so I would say yes, it is still considered as a battle.
 

Additionaly - routed units would still participate in battle, they just would not be able to do any damage and count its straingh in the end, so you would have better chance to finish them up.



#3 sigmazero13

sigmazero13

    Rules Geek

  • Members
  • 1,928 posts

Posted 16 February 2014 - 02:07 AM

It is definitely still considered a battle.  Anytime you move into an enemy-controlled area, it's a battle.  This is even true if you move into an enemy area that doesn't have any units (like an empty stronghold or an empty home area).

 

Technically speaking, you'd still draw cards for all your units, too (although in most cases, it doesn't do much.  However, units like the Knights and Necromancers can make use of those cards).  It does count against the 1-battle-per-Mobilize even if there are no enemy units there.

 

 

One note, however - if you move into an area that contains previously routed units, those units are NOT part of any battle that may happen there.  If the defender loses the battle, those units will be destroyed, but unless you stand those units up before the battle starts, they can't participate in any way.  (Units that are routed DURING the battle are still part of the battle, in case you have a card like Rally Cry; but Rally Cry won't let units that were previously routed join the battle after it's already started.  You could play the card right at the start of battle and they would join in, but if you wait beyond that, it'll be too late).


  • Kouteki likes this

#4 Kouteki

Kouteki

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 17 February 2014 - 01:57 PM

So Mobilize cannot be used to occupy two enemy home provinces that are completely empty?



#5 sigmazero13

sigmazero13

    Rules Geek

  • Members
  • 1,928 posts

Posted 17 February 2014 - 02:21 PM

Correct.  That would constitute two "battles".

 

(Thematically, it could just be assumed that the home land areas have some paltry defenses, not enough to do much damage, but enough to slow your armies marches).


Edited by sigmazero13, 17 February 2014 - 02:22 PM.

  • Kouteki likes this




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS