Jump to content



Photo

Hidden Cache / Discard Question


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 iGaveHimLife

iGaveHimLife

    Member

  • Members
  • 106 posts

Posted 13 February 2014 - 06:04 PM

Are all cards placed in the discard pile considered to be discarded? Like dose using the action on Hidden Cache as a normal event trigger its response?



#2 Bullroarer Took

Bullroarer Took

    Member

  • Members
  • 976 posts

Posted 13 February 2014 - 06:28 PM

If I understand you, playing an event is not the same as discarding the event.


Nearly all of my comments are from the perspective of the single handed solo player.

#3 booored

booored

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,037 posts

Posted 13 February 2014 - 06:48 PM

RTFC! - The combo doesn't work.. it says right on the card "discard form your deck" so it needs to be discarded directly from the draw deck to the discard pile.

 

As for the other more interesting question...

 

There is no "proof" either way. The fact that the "discard pile" is called the discard pile you can think of ANY card in it for ANY reason as discarded... I mean it IS in the discard pile.. so the cards are discarded when in the discard pile, right? ....

 

The problem here is that in MTG and a number of other popular games discard is a term that is defined.

 

Many cards say things like "discard from hand" or "Discard from play" etc etc as a way of defining the location the cards are discarded from.. but again, this doesn't mean that the movement to the discard pile regardless of location is a "discard" act. This is why the cache says "Discarded form your Deck", but again... this could be just to stop protector or ewoyn triggering it from your hand

 

So to put it plainly.. there is no proof either way as far as I know.


Edited by booored, 13 February 2014 - 07:10 PM.

"People should be less concerned about whether they are being insulted and more concerned if it is the truth"

#4 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,340 posts

Posted 13 February 2014 - 10:55 PM

It would be awful to have to keep track of which cards in the discard pile were "destroyed" vs. "discarded" or whatever else could land them in your discard pile... so I'm going to just call them all "discarded."



#5 booored

booored

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,037 posts

Posted 13 February 2014 - 11:01 PM

yeah, I play that any card moving into the discard pile for any reason is "discarded" and would satisfy any effect requiring a "discard condition". It is kinda convoluted, and really they should have used a different word for the discard pile. Still I think that the naming of the location it is discarded form should remove most problems.


"People should be less concerned about whether they are being insulted and more concerned if it is the truth"

#6 leptokurt

leptokurt

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,301 posts

Posted 16 February 2014 - 02:24 PM

When you're lying on the graveyard does it really matter what got you there? YOU'RE DEAD*!!!!! D - E - A - D : dead

 

 

* except if you've got a second copy of Bill the Pony. The he'll come back. But not from the grave, shockingly.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS