Jump to content



Photo

Discarding from Grip or HQ


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 instinctive

instinctive

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 12 February 2014 - 10:27 AM

Can you discard cards from Grip or HQ if you are not over your hand limit?

#2 Saturnine

Saturnine

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,558 posts

Posted 12 February 2014 - 11:45 AM

Not without a card effect that allows you to do so.



#3 nungunz

nungunz

    Member

  • Members
  • 237 posts

Posted 12 February 2014 - 12:18 PM

You also can't discard installed Hardware or Resources unless a card allows you to do so.



#4 instinctive

instinctive

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 13 February 2014 - 10:02 AM

So, barring card effects, the only situation in which one can get rid of more cards than strictly necessary to get under a limit (such as hand size) would be when the runner is allowed to trash any number of programs if a new one is installed?

#5 Grimwalker

Grimwalker

    Member

  • Members
  • 688 posts

Posted 13 February 2014 - 10:30 AM

Freelance Coding Contracts can deplete your hand, or other effects which have discard as a cost.



#6 CommissarFeesh

CommissarFeesh

    Member

  • Members
  • 703 posts

Posted 13 February 2014 - 12:02 PM

Freelance Coding Contracts can deplete your hand, or other effects which have discard as a cost.

 

 

He did say 'barring card effects' :P

 

In answer to that question, you can trash any number of INSTALLED programs whenever you install a program - you can't freely trash from grip. Not sure if you were implying otherwise or not, but I wanted to be sure there's no confusion :)



#7 etherial

etherial

    Member

  • Members
  • 297 posts

Posted 14 February 2014 - 09:58 AM

Not that even if you are over your hand limit, the only time you are forced/allowed to discard is at the end of YOUR turn.



#8 Grimwalker

Grimwalker

    Member

  • Members
  • 688 posts

Posted 14 February 2014 - 11:16 AM

 

Freelance Coding Contracts can deplete your hand, or other effects which have discard as a cost.

 

 

He did say 'barring card effects' :P

 

In answer to that question, you can trash any number of INSTALLED programs whenever you install a program - you can't freely trash from grip. Not sure if you were implying otherwise or not, but I wanted to be sure there's no confusion :)

 

 

I misread his question. Was in a hurry. Not sure why he wants to ditch cards from Grip, as that's generally an objectively horrible idea. HQ? Sure, I'd love to lay down a Jackson and then just discard everything from my hand that isn't a Snare or a Shock, but that's cheating.

This is in plain English in the rulebook:
 

Discard: The act by which a player
moves a card to his trash pile at the
end of his turn if he has exceeded his
maximum hand size.
 
Nothing more, nothing less.

Edited by Grimwalker, 14 February 2014 - 11:28 AM.


#9 CommissarFeesh

CommissarFeesh

    Member

  • Members
  • 703 posts

Posted 14 February 2014 - 01:57 PM

Eh, could be useful in some scenarios (want to run on unrezzed ICE, have Parasite in grip and Datasuckers loaded, Clone Chip installed) but the uses are probably pretty niche.



#10 Covered in Weasels

Covered in Weasels

    Member

  • Members
  • 537 posts

Posted 13 March 2014 - 09:56 AM

You could want to intentionally discard cards if you are playing as Exile. Retrieval Run would let you install an expensive icebreaker for little cost, and Clone Chip could reinstall a card from Archives while giving you an extra draw. Most Runners wouldn't want to do this though.


Do not ask why you serve.  Only ask how.

 

Synonymous names include: Buried in Ferrets, Enveloped by Ermine.

Currently GMing a Dark Heresy 2.0 game and inflicting untold misery upon Martin Lockheed and company.





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS