Jump to content



Photo

Guarded, Treacheries, and Eleanor


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 konokono

konokono

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 11 February 2014 - 06:15 PM

Hi, I'm playing through "The Hunt for Gollum" for the first time and ran into this situation.  Not sure how to resolve the rules properly.

 

During the staging step, the first card I reveal is a "Signs of Gollum", which has the guarded keyword.

 

Following the guarded keyword, I reveal an additional card from the encounter deck.  It is "Massing at Night", a treachery.  In response, I cancel it with Eleanor and reveal another card as instructed by Eleanor.

 

The card revealed by Eleanor is another "Signs of Gollum".  So now I am a bit confused and have the following questions.

 

1. Does the second Signs that I drew from Eleanor's ability count as the card revealed by the guarded keyword for the first Signs?  Because if so, it seems that the rules indicate I should reveal another card to guard the first Signs.

 

2. For the second Signs, do I reveal another card to guard it?

 

I am guessing that the answer to question 1 is "no" and that the first Signs will remain unguarded (because the treachery was the one that was supposed to guard it) and that the answer to question 2 is "yes", that I need to reveal another card to guard it

 

(And then after this I will have to reveal another card as part of the staging process)

 

Please let me know how to play out this situation.

 

thanks

 

 

 

 

 



#2 booored

booored

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,002 posts

Posted 11 February 2014 - 06:44 PM

Yes.

 

You canceled the when revealed card that is "guarding" the objective. Her text specifically says "replace". So the new one replaces the old one guarding the clue or w/e it is I forget now.

 

In comparison Test of Will, just cancels the card. So no new card is drawn.

 

Another thing is if you draw a guarded clue, and the guarded card you draw is another clue. The 2nd clue goes in the staging area, and now you draw 2 cards to guard them. Starting with the 1st clue then the 2nd.


"People should be less concerned about whether they are being insulted and more concerned if it is the truth"

#3 konokono

konokono

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 12 February 2014 - 11:19 PM

Thanks, i think I understand.

 

Eleanor's ability replaces the treachery, so the next card drawn would be the card guarding the first clue.  But since the next card drawn was a clue, I need to draw another card to guard the first clue, as per the rules, and then another card to guard the second clue



#4 booored

booored

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,002 posts

Posted 12 February 2014 - 11:42 PM

yup!

 

That is how I do it.. I've had a few missed rule wise recently though :(


"People should be less concerned about whether they are being insulted and more concerned if it is the truth"




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS