Jump to content



Photo

Ravenous Hawk (HfG Nightmare)


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Bullroarer Took

Bullroarer Took

    Member

  • Members
  • 971 posts

Posted 10 February 2014 - 11:30 PM

Reads:  "Forced:  When a card effect instructs a player to "look" at cards in the encounter deck and Ravenous Hawk is among those cards, that player must put Ravenous Hawk into play engaged with him.  (This does not satisfy the Forced effect of stage 1B or 2B.)"

 

I think this is the first time we've seen a card like this. Since I was trying the play the scenario "blind" (without looking at the encounter cards ahead of time) I wasn't aware that this was written on the card and didn't activate its effect when I had to search.  I lost anyway, but I want to make sure I understand the card properly.  First, there are a lot of cards in the deck now that require searching, so let's say you pull one of these on the first turn.  There are three copies of Ravenous Hawk in the encounter deck, do you have to engage them all? (It would seem that each one would have an independent trigger.)

 

And what does "This does not satisfy the Forced effect of stage 1B or 2B" really mean?  For example, Stage 2B reads "At the beginning of the encounter phase the first player looks at the top two cards of the encounter deck.  Reveal and add 1 of those cards to the staging area and discard the other."  So that means that in addition to revealing a card I will then have to engage all copies of Revenous Hawk that are left in the encounter deck at this point?

 

TIA


Nearly all of my comments are from the perspective of the single handed solo player.

#2 alogos

alogos

    Member

  • Members
  • 491 posts

Posted 11 February 2014 - 03:31 AM

Yes.

For exemple, if you reveal a ravenous hawk and something else for the forced effect, you have to put the hawk engaged with you and then you can only choose the other card.

If there was 2, you can't choose anything, but you won't have to look at more card, the forced effect does not resolve completly.


  • Bullroarer Took likes this




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS