Jump to content



Photo

Ranged Attack?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 nismojoe

nismojoe

    Member

  • Members
  • 59 posts

Posted 10 February 2014 - 08:42 AM

According to the new FAQ/Errata

 

 

Q: What counts as a "ranged" attack?

A: A ranged attack is an attack made by a character with the ranged keyword against an enemy engaged with another player

 

 

Attacking the staging area doesn't count as a ranged attack?

 

More importantly, Hands Upon the Bow + Bard


Edited by nismojoe, 10 February 2014 - 08:44 AM.


#2 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,082 posts

Posted 10 February 2014 - 09:40 AM

On its own, an attack made into the staging area is not considered ranged.

 

The card text in Great Yew Bow specifically states that the attack will be ranged.  So when you use GYB to attack the staging area, it's considered a ranged attack.

 

When you use Hands Upon the Bow, there is nothing to indicate that the attack is ranged, so Bard will not get his -2 defense effect.



#3 nismojoe

nismojoe

    Member

  • Members
  • 59 posts

Posted 10 February 2014 - 03:27 PM

I dislike that.....

 

For some reason I always considered enemies engaged with you as a melee combat and all others are ranged.

 

Gross

 

Just reread the rule book on pg 24.

Looks a ranged attack works if an enemy in the staging area is considered "to be engaged to another player."


Edited by nismojoe, 10 February 2014 - 03:35 PM.


#4 mewmartigan

mewmartigan

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 10 February 2014 - 03:33 PM

If a hero (like legolas) is ranged, he can't attack an enemy in the staging area though right? Ranged is specifically for multiple players and assisting another player who is engaged with an enemy...



#5 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,082 posts

Posted 10 February 2014 - 04:28 PM

Yeah--"ranged" alone doesn't allow you to attack the staging area.  But there are some enemies who stay in the staging area and are simultaneously "considered to be engaged with" a player, like the Smaug the Magnificent in The Lonely Mountain quest.  You could make a ranged attack against that enemy if it is currently considered to be engaged with another player, even though it is in the staging area.  But you couldn't use something like Hands Upon the Bow if the card is "immune to player card effects."

 

Here's a question though: Durin's Bane in Shadow and Flame is considered to be engaged with all players who have a threat of 1 or more.  Can you make a ranged attack if everyone has more than 1 threat?  He is engaged with YOU, but also engaged with other players...


Edited by GrandSpleen, 10 February 2014 - 04:32 PM.


#6 nismojoe

nismojoe

    Member

  • Members
  • 59 posts

Posted 10 February 2014 - 04:59 PM

Yeah--"ranged" alone doesn't allow you to attack the staging area.  But there are some enemies who stay in the staging area and are simultaneously "considered to be engaged with" a player, like the Smaug the Magnificent in The Lonely Mountain quest.  You could make a ranged attack against that enemy if it is currently considered to be engaged with another player, even though it is in the staging area.  But you couldn't use something like Hands Upon the Bow if the card is "immune to player card effects."

 

Here's a question though: Durin's Bane in Shadow and Flame is considered to be engaged with all players who have a threat of 1 or more.  Can you make a ranged attack if everyone has more than 1 threat?  He is engaged with YOU, but also engaged with other players...

I would personally say yes as long as you join in on someone else's attack, like whoever has a board of attackers with no ranged obviously.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS