Jump to content



Photo

Playing cards "exhaust" vs "flip card over"


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 stver7804

stver7804

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 08 February 2014 - 09:53 AM

New to the game and just finished Fat Goblin in first campaign. We are trying to understand the difference between a card that says "Exhaust this card" and one that says to "flip this card over". My understanding was that "exhausted" cards can be refreshed at the start of a heroes turn, but am not sure what happens to a card that is flipped over. Is that a once per encounter card?

#2 BentoSan

BentoSan

    Member

  • Members
  • 387 posts

Posted 08 February 2014 - 11:34 AM

Flippedover cards are used once per quest(not encounter), unless another card tells you to do otherwise, a healers heroic ability comes to mind that does this to potion cards.

Also remember search cards are disposed of at the end of a quest. So they can be searched again in the next quest.

#3 stver7804

stver7804

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 08 February 2014 - 12:55 PM

Thank you, BentoSan! On the subject of Potion cards. Are we correct in our assumption that they count against your equip limit. For example, 1 two handed sword, one armor, 1 ring and 1 potion card (or 2 potion cards with no ring)? Is that correct?

#4 stver7804

stver7804

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 08 February 2014 - 01:28 PM

BentoSan, is there a rule reference for the "once per quest" on flipped over cards? The only reason I ask is this is done with hero sheet for heroic feat, but heroic feat can be used once per encounter. Thanks again for your help!

#5 stver7804

stver7804

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 08 February 2014 - 01:54 PM

Sorry, last question on playing cards. Am I correct that when the OL plays a card that just says "play card" that he discards it, or can he play it every turn? We have been playing that he discards it.

#6 BentoSan

BentoSan

    Member

  • Members
  • 387 posts

Posted 08 February 2014 - 02:19 PM

Thank you, BentoSan! On the subject of Potion cards. Are we correct in our assumption that they count against your equip limit. For example, 1 two handed sword, one armor, 1 ring and 1 potion card (or 2 potion cards with no ring)? Is that correct?

 

No, they do not use equipment slots. You can carry and use as many as the cards will allow in a single turn.

 

 

BentoSan, is there a rule reference for the "once per quest" on flipped over cards? The only reason I ask is this is done with hero sheet for heroic feat, but heroic feat can be used once per encounter. Thanks again for your help!

 

Page 18, where it lists the steps to perform between encounters says: "Heroes keep all search cards; any flipped cards remain flipped.". This is also where it lists the act of flipping the hero cards face up like you mentioned to refresh their heroic ability.

 

 

Sorry, last question on playing cards. Am I correct that when the OL plays a card that just says "play card" that he discards it, or can he play it every turn? We have been playing that he discards it.

 

Yes overlord card are discarded (page 16 - overlord cards) unless you are using a card that says you can return it to your hand. There is two cards i can think of that have this ability, one is an infector overlord class card called tainted blow from an expansion that allows you to do this if you spend 2 infector tokens on the target. There is also another card in one other other classes that adds 2 damage and allows you to return the card to your hand if you spend a surge on the attack to get it back.

 

Page 20, under 'the campaign phase' heading, step 6 is when the card are reshuffled for use in the next quest. So very generally speaking once you discard the card you cannot use it again in the quest you are on. There are however other overlord cards and plot cards(lieutenant expansions) that will let you get overlord cards back into your hand or onto your pick up pile.



#7 stver7804

stver7804

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 08 February 2014 - 02:47 PM

Thanks so much! These are the kind of thing that lead to imbalanced play if you are not playing correctly.

#8 BentoSan

BentoSan

    Member

  • Members
  • 387 posts

Posted 08 February 2014 - 03:47 PM

There is two cards i can think of that have this ability, one is an infector overlord class card called tainted blow from an expansion that allows you to do this if you spend 2 infector tokens on the target. There is also another card in one other other classes that adds 2 damage and allows you to return the card to your hand if you spend a surge on the attack to get it back.

 

Used together these 2 cards are LoL-worthy. Tainted blow(infector deck lvl 2 - event card) gives you a surge and +1 damage, spend 2 infector tokens to return it to your hand.

 

The other is expert blow (Warlord deck lvl 2 - event card) does +2 damage, spend a surge on that attack and you can return the card to your hand.

 

I think you might be able to see where i am going on this, use the surge from tainted blow, to return expert blow to your hand. Spend 2 infector tokens to return Tainted Blow to your hand.

 

The problem with this is that you need to spend 8 experience points to get these 2 cards, which is very late in the campaign. Also if you roll a miss then you lose both cards to your discard pile unless you use a re-roll card, or find another way to return the cards from your discard pile back to your hand.

 

Sadly i cannot take credit for the above strategy, credit for my knowing about this combination goes to Zachary Mott on BGG forums who may or may not have come up with the idea.

 

 

 

 

 

On a slightly similar topic, i am playing with Lord Merick Farrow plot deck at the moment. One his plot cards gives the ability to return a magic type overlord card back into your hand at the end of your turn if you spend 1 threat. This is another way to get overlord cards back into your hand. An interesting combination with the Magnus deck is to buy the level 3 card diabolical power (it really looks like this plot deck goes with Magnus the best). This card lets you "search your deck and discard pile for the card of your choice", it also tests heroes attributes (depending which type of card you pull out) and does 2 damage to any hero that fails. So for 1 threat token you can basically return any OL card to your hand if you spend at least 6 xp on the magnus class.


Edited by BentoSan, 10 February 2014 - 11:36 AM.


#9 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,631 posts

Posted 08 February 2014 - 08:02 PM

Exhausting a card is a standard game activity, and exhausted cards always refresh at the start of the player's next turn (unless the card says otherwise.)

Flipping a card face down is a bit more loosey-goosey. There are a few different reasons to do it, and when the card gets flipped up again depends on the type of card we're talking about.
- Search cards begin face up and are flipped face down once used. They generally remain face down for the remainder of the quest, as has been discussed. (Note that at the end of the quest ALL search cards MUST be sold for their gold value - including face down ones.)
- A hero's sheet is turned face down to indicate his heroic feat has been used, and it flips face up again in the next encounter.
- Equipment items which the hero is carrying but does not have equipped are supposed to be placed face down to avoid confusion about which items are equipped. They can be turned face up whenever the hero chooses to equip them.

In general, exhausting a card is an effect that lasts only one turn, whereas turning a card face down can last multiple turns - even multiple encounters.

#10 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 496 posts

Posted 10 February 2014 - 10:21 AM

An interesting combination with the Magnus deck is to buy the level 3 card diabolical power ... So for 1 threat token you can basically return any OL card to your hand if you spend at least 4 xp on the magnus class.

To get a Level 3 card, you will need to spend at least 6 or 7 XP on a given class: "[The overlord] must have three cards of a class in his deck (which can be any combination of Level 1 and Level 2 cards) before purchasing a level 3 card of that class."

 

 

 

- Equipment items which the hero is carrying but does not have equipped are supposed to be placed face down to avoid confusion about which items are equipped. They can be turned face up whenever the hero chooses to equip them.

"Equipment" in this case refers only to cards with one of the three 3 symbols: Hands, Armor, or Ring (meaning "Other"). Search cards, Shop Item cards, and Class equipment cards that do not have any of these symbols may be equipped without restriction.

 

Also note (because it's come up a lot recently) that Search cards do not need to be equipped before they can be used. (FFG has clarified this specifically for potions, but we're fairly certain it also applies to other Search cards as well.)


Edited by griton, 10 February 2014 - 10:22 AM.


#11 BentoSan

BentoSan

    Member

  • Members
  • 387 posts

Posted 10 February 2014 - 11:36 AM

 

An interesting combination with the Magnus deck is to buy the level 3 card diabolical power ... So for 1 threat token you can basically return any OL card to your hand if you spend at least 4 xp on the magnus class.

To get a Level 3 card, you will need to spend at least 6 or 7 XP on a given class: "[The overlord] must have three cards of a class in his deck (which can be any combination of Level 1 and Level 2 cards) before purchasing a level 3 card of that class."

 

 

 

My bad, i thought it was a lvl 2 card when writing, realised my mistake and edited it to say 3, but i didnt edit the xp needed. ill fix that now






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS