Jump to content



Photo

here we go!


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Krawallburste

Krawallburste

    Member

  • Members
  • 112 posts

Posted 05 February 2014 - 06:08 PM

uhm - got some quick questions that occured during my labyrinth of ruin campaign.

 

1) when "reflective ward" is played on an allie, can he choose to suffer 2 fatigue (which is instantly converted into damage) - or is he unable to suffer fatigue and always takes his own blow?

 

2) in "let the truth be buried", 2nd encounter, spligg is treated as a hero figure, once a willpower roll against him is won. does this mean, that he may now only move 1 space?

 

"the flooring in this quest is on an extremely steep incline. when a hero performs a move action he only receives 1 movement point, regardless of his speed or hero ability. allies and familiars gain movement points equal to their speed as normal when performing a move action. however, allies and familiars may only perform 1 move action per turn."

 

3) is raythen able to fall in this encounter? he is an ally, which is treated as a hero figure for the purposes of "... hero abilities, monster abilities and attacks, and overlord cards". doesnt say anything about questrelevant rules, does it? 

counterpoint: "alljie have attributes and perform attribute tests just like heroes."

 

basically its the same question on whether a hero treated figure would be affected by questrules.

 

4) when a search card is lootet, does it get automatically equipped, or does a hero need to wait for his next turn to claim it is equipped? if so, a hero would still be able to trade the search card during a move action, wont it?

 

urs

 

krawallbürste


Edited by Krawallburste, 06 February 2014 - 03:47 AM.


#2 Krawallburste

Krawallburste

    Member

  • Members
  • 112 posts

Posted 05 February 2014 - 07:30 PM

5) is there a difference between Movement and "moving someone 1 space"?

example: in the intro of labyrinth of ruin a goblin may help another goblin, carrying the unconscious woman to move him 1 space. the red "elavation" lines do block movement. would a goblin be able to be helped "over" one of these elavations? if so, would not a reanimate be able to go up those elavations to, when moved by deathly haste?

 

*messed up the numbers again... sorry


Edited by Krawallburste, 06 February 2014 - 03:48 AM.


#3 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,680 posts

Posted 05 February 2014 - 08:45 PM

1) when "reflective ward" is played on an allie, can he choose to suffer 2 fatigue (which is instantly converted into damage) - or is he unable to suffer fatigue and always takes his own blow?


I think the ally could choose to suffer 2 fatigue, just as a hero could if he were out of fatigue.
The word "choose" appears misleading here. The hero (ally) is not "voluntarily suffering fatigue," he is choosing between one of two effects: "suffer 2 fatigue" or "suffer wounds equal to his own attack."

I'd say this is similar to the issue with the master cave spider's web. A hero who chooses to move away from the cave spider is not "choosing to suffer fatigue," he is choosing to move and suffering fatigue is a consequence. Similarly, this OL card is forcing the target to make a choice between two effects. Once that choice is made, the resulting effect is not voluntary.
 

basically its the same question on whether a hero treated figure would be affected by quest rules.


I personally do not believe that quest rules count for tokens "treated as heroes." I would say that Splig being "treated as a hero" is the same as a token being "treated as a hero."
 

3) when a search card is lootet, does it get automatically equipped, or does a hero need to wait for his next turn to claim it is equipped? if so, a hero would still be able to trade the search card during a move action, wont it?


No, it's not equipped, although this really only matters if you draw an item via Treasure Chest. FFG has ruled that potions and other actual Search Cards do not need to be equipped at all.

As for trading, as far as I know there is no requirement that an item be equipped before it can be traded. You can swap anything without having it equipped at the time.

 

4) is there a difference between Movement and "moving someone 1 space"?
example: in the intro of labyrinth of ruin a goblin may help another goblin, carrying the unconscious woman to move him 1 space. the red "elavation" lines do block movement. would a goblin be able to be helped "over" one of these elavations? if so, would not a reanimate be able to go up those elavations to, when moved by deathly haste?


There is no difference between "movement" and "moving someone 1 space." There IS a different between a "Move Action" and "moving someone 1 space." However, neither Move Actions nor general "movement" allow you to ignore terrain rules - generally speaking. :P

I believe Knockback says you ignore terrain while moving the victim (from memory), so with that effect you could move them over elevation lines. If the "movement" effect in question does not say you can ignore terrain, though, then you can't.

Edited by Steve-O, 05 February 2014 - 08:45 PM.


#4 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 496 posts

Posted 06 February 2014 - 10:14 AM

 

1) when "reflective ward" is played on an allie, can he choose to suffer 2 fatigue (which is instantly converted into damage) - or is he unable to suffer fatigue and always takes his own blow?


I think the ally could choose to suffer 2 fatigue, just as a hero could if he were out of fatigue.
The word "choose" appears misleading here. The hero (ally) is not "voluntarily suffering fatigue," he is choosing between one of two effects: "suffer 2 fatigue" or "suffer wounds equal to his own attack."

I'd say this is similar to the issue with the master cave spider's web. A hero who chooses to move away from the cave spider is not "choosing to suffer fatigue," he is choosing to move and suffering fatigue is a consequence. Similarly, this OL card is forcing the target to make a choice between two effects. Once that choice is made, the resulting effect is not voluntary.

 

I'm not entirely certain about this. Reflective Ward says "If he cannot suffer the fatigue, or chooses not to,". While that's probably how I would rule it, If a hero could suffer wounds instead of fatigue for this, then the only time "cannot suffer" would come into play is if they only had 1 or 2 wounds+fatigue remaining. (This may be the intended case, but it may also be better to ask FFG about it, because "cannot suffer" may imply cases where they are close to full fatigue, not intending the ability to take that fatigue as wounds)

 

 

FFG has ruled that potions and other actual Search Cards do not need to be equipped at all.

Unless I'm mistaken, they've only made clarifications specifically for potions, but based on the rules, I believe that other Search cards fall under the same ruling.



#5 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,680 posts

Posted 06 February 2014 - 09:43 PM

I'm not entirely certain about this. Reflective Ward says "If he cannot suffer the fatigue, or chooses not to,". While that's probably how I would rule it, If a hero could suffer wounds instead of fatigue for this, then the only time "cannot suffer" would come into play is if they only had 1 or 2 wounds+fatigue remaining. (This may be the intended case, but it may also be better to ask FFG about it, because "cannot suffer" may imply cases where they are close to full fatigue, not intending the ability to take that fatigue as wounds)


That's a good point. I glossed over that "cannot suffer" bit on the card.

#6 Krawallburste

Krawallburste

    Member

  • Members
  • 112 posts

Posted 11 February 2014 - 11:17 AM

there u go =) 

 

2) in the 2nd encounter of "let the truth be buried" is splig, once controlled by the heroes bound to the rule, that each time a hero performs a move actions he only receives 1 movement point? or does he get his full 3 mp's?

Even though Splig is treated as a hero, he is still a lieutenant as well, so he does receive 3 mp.

 

3) is raythen able to fall in this encounter? he is an ally, which is treated as a hero figure for the purposes of "... hero abilities, monster abilities and attacks, and overlord cards". doesnt say anything about questrelevant rules, does it?

 
You are correct, allies are not effect by quest rules, so he cannot fall during this encounter. 





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS