Jump to content



Photo

Lieutenants "agents" summoning question.


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Bagdad

Bagdad

    Member

  • Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 04 February 2014 - 07:55 PM

"When an agent is defeated, the overlord must return the plot card that summoned the agent back to his plot deck. The card may be purchased again."

 

Not sure about this sentence. Does that means you have to spent tokens to purchase the card once more and then spent tokens to trigger it. (3 tokens + 2 tokens)

 

Or just spent the tokens to trigger it once more? (2 tokens)



#2 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,616 posts

Posted 04 February 2014 - 08:08 PM

You have to purchase the card again, and then trigger it again.  Plot cards that are in the deck are the ones you haven't purchased yet, and this rule instructs you to put the summon card back in the deck.



#3 Zogwort

Zogwort

    Member

  • Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 04 February 2014 - 08:47 PM

Yes, when an agent is defeated, you will have to spend threat tokens to purchase the summon card from the plot deck again, then spend threat tokens to activate the card, again. 

 

However, I do believe you can use the Reinforce card (Warlord 3) to bring back a defeated agent during the encounter, but the agent's summon card will still go back into the deck.



#4 Bagdad

Bagdad

    Member

  • Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 05 February 2014 - 08:48 AM

Ah, ok then... It seems it cost a lot to summon an agent then. I Wonder if it's Worth it since they cannot re-inforce, and the master monsters they replace can re-inforce.

 

About the Warlord 3 card, it's written in the rules that regardless of the rules an agent can never be reinforced.



#5 Zogwort

Zogwort

    Member

  • Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 05 February 2014 - 10:25 AM

Ah, ok then... It seems it cost a lot to summon an agent then. I Wonder if it's Worth it since they cannot re-inforce, and the master monsters they replace can re-inforce.

 

About the Warlord 3 card, it's written in the rules that regardless of the rules an agent can never be reinforced.

It's written that regardless of quest rules, an agent cannot be reinforced. Meaning no matter what the quest rule for reinforcements state, an agent is not eligible. However, the Reinforce card is not the same thing as the reinforcement quest rule. I'll admit I haven't checked to see if there is errata, so I'll be checking when I have the chance.



#6 Zogwort

Zogwort

    Member

  • Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 05 February 2014 - 10:31 AM

Ok I just checked... The errata has completely changed the way the Reinforce card works, and an agent would not be eligible for the Reinforce card since now the Reinforce card only gives minion monsters and an agent counts as a master monster. Carry on!



#7 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,616 posts

Posted 05 February 2014 - 08:53 PM

Ah, ok then... It seems it cost a lot to summon an agent then. I Wonder if it's Worth it since they cannot re-inforce, and the master monsters they replace can re-inforce.


It costs a lot if you lose him, yes.

As long as the agent does not get defeated, you only have to pay the "trigger cost" each encounter you want to summon him into. The question is whether or not the other abilities he brings into play are worth the steep cost to get him there.

You probably don't want to throw him around like an expendable front-line monster, though. =P

#8 rugal

rugal

    Member

  • Members
  • 592 posts

Posted 06 February 2014 - 04:33 AM

I do think too that purchasing the card again is too much.

 

I would have liked something else, for example, the summoning card would be blocked for one or two missions.

 

The heroes will kill the agent almost all times, so summoning agent cost 5 finally



#9 Underworld40k

Underworld40k

    Member

  • Members
  • 315 posts

Posted 06 February 2014 - 04:52 AM

Depends on the agent and the quest, every time my heroes fancy killing of an agent i look at it as actions lost for them rather then threat tokens lost. If they survive so much the better, if they die then it has probably gained me time to do what i need to do.



#10 Bagdad

Bagdad

    Member

  • Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 06 February 2014 - 08:32 AM

I noticed on some cards it's written: this card does not refresh as normal. (quest, encounters)

 

Can someone define "refresh as normal".

 

Do regular cards refresh at the start of each OL turn?



#11 mjfilla

mjfilla

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 06 February 2014 - 09:47 AM

Yes - see the last sentence of step 1 of the Overlord Turn Summary on page 8 of the rulebook:

 

Start of Turn:

During this step, any effects affecting the overlord that

last “until the start of your next turn” end. Then, the overlord player

draws one Overlord card, and he may play any number of Overlord

cards that specifically state they may be played “at the start of your

turn.” Then the overlord player refreshes his exhausted cards.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS