Jump to content



Photo

Excess progress tokens


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Chris51261

Chris51261

    Member

  • Members
  • 152 posts

Posted 03 February 2014 - 06:24 PM

So I was playing through The Battle of Five Armies today and had just got done questing and figuring out progress, and I was placing 11 down on stage 2B, which needs 8. My question is: do
you only put 8 onto the quest card? Or would I put 11?

#2 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,120 posts

Posted 03 February 2014 - 09:29 PM

Just keep piling them on.  There is no upper limit on the number of progress tokens you can place on a card. It's good, too -- there are some effects that remove progress tokens from cards, so it is good to have extra ones on there.



#3 Chris51261

Chris51261

    Member

  • Members
  • 152 posts

Posted 03 February 2014 - 11:02 PM

That's actually why I was asking! There was an effect where I had to remove a progress token at the end of the round. Glad to hear it's like this. Thanks for the response.



#4 Mndela

Mndela

    Member

  • Members
  • 822 posts

Posted 04 February 2014 - 08:02 AM

There are people that when place 8 progress tokens on 2b, 3b or 4b..., discard that quest card. I think it is not correct, i think you add excess progress tokens but not discard quest card.

 

What do you think?


A wizard is never late..., he arrives precisely when it is the last round


#5 booored

booored

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,002 posts

Posted 04 February 2014 - 08:45 AM

you only flip the quest card after you have fulfilled the quest requirements. The default is a number of token but more often now there is a condition you need to fulfill. Until that condition is fulfilled, you just keep piling the tokens on the quest card. This only really matters in quests that have ways of removing progress tokens and other special circumstances.
"People should be less concerned about whether they are being insulted and more concerned if it is the truth"

#6 Chris51261

Chris51261

    Member

  • Members
  • 152 posts

Posted 05 February 2014 - 07:25 AM

There are people that when place 8 progress tokens on 2b, 3b or 4b..., discard that quest card. I think it is not correct, i think you add excess progress tokens but not discard quest card.
 
What do you think?


Definitely not the way I would play it, so I agree with you, probably incorrect. The quest has ways of removing progress, including one that removes all progress from the current quest (I think). And while I'm thinking about it now, would the same logic also pertain to enemies like Durin's Bane? Can you simply keep beating on them and get them well below what would normally destroy them in order to counteract things like their regeneration and whatnot?

#7 alogos

alogos

    Member

  • Members
  • 417 posts

Posted 05 February 2014 - 08:45 AM

According to this : http://boardgamegeek...ins-bane-damage, yes.

Odd, I remember seing the opposite...






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS