Jump to content



Photo

Witchcraft


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 drummond13

drummond13

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 31 January 2014 - 11:50 AM

I am very confused by the Witchcraft card.  The bold print seems to indicate that it basically kills off all witches at the start of each Keeper turn.  Why does this happen?  I can't understand the thematic implications here.

 

Also, am I right in believing that you can use it right from the start?  i.e., before any witches have appeared in the game so far?

 

It just feels like a bad move.  Why spend two threat to "maybe" summon a witch that then dies after a single attack?



#2 Tibs

Tibs

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,560 posts

Posted 31 January 2014 - 11:55 AM

If you've read Lovecraft stories, specifically The Dreams in the Witch House, you find that witches have the unique ability to teleport into and out of some dream dimension from our normal reality. So thematically it's perfect... but only if you're familiar with the source material.

 

It's a great card because it allows you to constantly harass the investigators. The appearance of the witches induces a horror check, and the witches themselves don't have to be permanent in order to invoke evade checks. If the investigators keep failing their horror checks (which you can achieve by bullying the poor low-Willpower saps), then the witches effectively count as permanent.



#3 drummond13

drummond13

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 31 January 2014 - 12:08 PM

Okay, I suppose that makes sense.  I'll try to work the dimensional thing into the story.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS