Jump to content



Photo

Errata Force Weapon: psychic damage / power level


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#21 Calgor Grim

Calgor Grim

    Member

  • Members
  • 418 posts

Posted 05 February 2014 - 03:30 PM

Rules aside as well it's more the balance aspect. Consider how nasty a full power librarian could be with this if it could be used multiple times per turn. Lets imagine a rough average of say five degrees of success on opposed willpower (plucking number out the air) and if you could use it for every hit of lightning attack.

 

Three lots of five D10's. Anywhere between 5 and 50 damage ignoring armour and toughness with potentials on any of those 15 dice to Righteous Fury with an extra 1D10 damage if so. Probably again an average maybe say 90-100 damage (assuming an odd righteous) on ONE action.


Loyal Missionary Father Grim of the Kingston 293rd Storm Troopers


#22 B3stie

B3stie

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts

Posted 06 February 2014 - 04:44 AM

Yes, i would see it also this way, but:

 

 

Power Format (page 189):
Add the following sentence to
the Action entry:
“If the power targets an opponent or does damage
to an opponent, the power gains the Attack Subtype (see page 237),
and thus cannot be combined with other Attack Subtype actions (such
as Full-Auto Burst or Semi-Auto Burst, and so on)

 

would also mean, that it cannot be combined with Lightning attack? Or am i wrong there?



#23 Theofonias

Theofonias

    Member

  • Members
  • 76 posts

Posted 06 February 2014 - 05:04 AM

Can i use the Psychic extra Damage for Force weapons more often than once per turn?(Counterattack, Swiftattack etc)

That would be something i am very interessted in!

 

Yes you can.  

 

 

Then added in the 1.1 Errata:

Power Format (page 189): Add the following sentence to the Action entry: “If the power targets an opponent or does damage to an opponent, the power gains the Attack Subtype (see page 237), and thus cannot be combined with other Attack Subtype actions (such as Full-Auto Burst or Semi-Auto Burst, and so on).

 

 

Since force weapons power does do damage to a target and it is confirmed as a focus power test (with varying power levels), it technically gains Attack sub type so you cant use it twice or more on the same turn. To be fair even if you could our lot play on a flat "no" rule, because two or even three uses of this can do obscene amounts of damage in one turn. As a reaction to a counter attack...up to you.

 

Sorry but I think you misinterpreted that rule because you can't use a Psychic Power and a melee attack in the same round, yet you can use a power sword's psychic pulse the same time as you make an attack; thus it is not counted as an Attack Subtype.


Edited by Theofonias, 06 February 2014 - 05:17 AM.


#24 Theofonias

Theofonias

    Member

  • Members
  • 76 posts

Posted 06 February 2014 - 05:14 AM

The psychic pulse is a "Free Action" and not bound by the action subtype rule because if it were you would not be able to make an Attack and then use the psychic pulse in the same round making it useless.  And the rules for Free Actions are on PG 236:

 

Free Actions
A Free Action takes only a moment and requires no real effort 
by the character. Free Actions may be performed in addition 
to any other Actions on a character’s Turn, and there is no 
formal limit to the number of Free Actions one character can 
take. The GM should use common sense to set reasonable 
limits on what can be done in a few seconds.
 
So, it's probably up to GM discretion. 


#25 Calgor Grim

Calgor Grim

    Member

  • Members
  • 418 posts

Posted 06 February 2014 - 07:01 AM

Fair point Theofonias. The point though was more to state that it is an offensive psychic power and you cant use two offensive powers at the same time. The bit about it negating an actual attack was me not cutting that part out! :)

 

However I would still disagree with multiple uses purely on a balance reason, Tabletop rules IIRC (at least in 5th ed) only said that no matter how many attacks in CC you get you can only make one of them a force weapon strike.


Loyal Missionary Father Grim of the Kingston 293rd Storm Troopers


#26 Routa-maa

Routa-maa

    Member

  • Members
  • 469 posts

Posted 06 February 2014 - 07:10 AM

I think this is one reason they changed it into "half action" in OW  :)


Edited by Routa-maa, 06 February 2014 - 07:11 AM.

Muutokselle annamme Elämän, Elämälle annamme Muutoksen.

#27 Theofonias

Theofonias

    Member

  • Members
  • 76 posts

Posted 06 February 2014 - 07:52 AM

Fair point Theofonias. The point though was more to state that it is an offensive psychic power and you cant use two offensive powers at the same time. The bit about it negating an actual attack was me not cutting that part out! :)

 

However I would still disagree with multiple uses purely on a balance reason, Tabletop rules IIRC (at least in 5th ed) only said that no matter how many attacks in CC you get you can only make one of them a force weapon strike.

 

I agree that it would be really over powered if you did let people use it multiple times.   However it's not a "Psychic Power"  more so that it is an effect of the weapon that is reliant on a Focus Test (and a WP contest) and that was my only point of contention.  It's the same reason why Librarians can't Smite someone and then chop them up with a sword, or Charge them, or shoot them: they are all Attack subtypes.  So, with the subtype mechanic in mind the pulse effect wouldn't be affected since its own mechanic logically supersedes it.  

 

Were it me, I'd let them at least have the Counter Attack.  They would have to get through 3 tests in order to have it go off   (Parry, -20 Attack, Focus Test) but of course I tend to run "heroic" games.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS