Jump to content



Photo

Hail of Stones


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Chris51261

Chris51261

    Member

  • Members
  • 173 posts

Posted 25 January 2014 - 05:05 PM

I was playing through a Knife in the Dark yesterday and was trying to take care of Bill Ferny with Hail of Stones and exhausting 5 characters. I drew this card with my Tactics/Lore deck, and had exactly 5 characters to exhaust, so it all went well and good. But the question occurred to me: can you exhaust cards from two separate players to pay for "exhaust X amount of characters" requirements? Like for Peace and Thought, Hail of Stones and cards like that? Thanks!


Edited by Chris51261, 25 January 2014 - 05:06 PM.


#2 leptokurt

leptokurt

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,284 posts

Posted 25 January 2014 - 06:22 PM

As it doesn't specifically say that you're limited to your own characters, it should be possible (might piss off your partner though).



#3 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,298 posts

Posted 25 January 2014 - 08:07 PM

It's considered a "cost" when the card is written as "Do X to do Y."  X is the cost.  You have to use your own resources (meaning resource tokens, cards in your hand, characters under your control) to pay costs.



#4 leptokurt

leptokurt

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,284 posts

Posted 26 January 2014 - 02:13 AM

It's considered a "cost" when the card is written as "Do X to do Y."  X is the cost.  You have to use your own resources (meaning resource tokens, cards in your hand, characters under your control) to pay costs.

Ah, you're correct. It's even in the rulebook (p. 25)! (not that it makes any sense thematically)


Edited by leptokurt, 26 January 2014 - 02:14 AM.


#5 Chris51261

Chris51261

    Member

  • Members
  • 173 posts

Posted 26 January 2014 - 12:49 PM

Thanks! I thought I had remembered reading it was like the resources, but wasn't sure.



#6 chuckles

chuckles

    Member

  • Members
  • 263 posts

Posted 03 February 2014 - 01:11 PM


 

As it doesn't specifically say that you're limited to your own characters, it should be possible (might piss off your partner though).

 

If that had been the case I would have found that quite hilarious ...at least the first time and quite annoying after that!!


"Do not believe him! He has lost all power, save his voice that can still daunt you and deceive you, if you let it."

 





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS