Jump to content



Photo

Rules Question - Command Cards


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 AVJax

AVJax

    Member

  • Members
  • 33 posts

Posted 24 January 2014 - 07:00 AM

The rules seem to indicate that when you pick a command card you have to activate the exact number of disks the card indicates.

 

What happens if you don't have enough disks left can you still use a card?



#2 cns917

cns917

    Member

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 24 January 2014 - 07:16 AM

So, you only have 1 disk left on the field that isn't activated, and your command card has a value of 3?

 

You still play the card and activate the 1 disk.  You lose the other 2 command points.  Unless you spend them to bring someone out of reserve.



#3 Ileopsoas

Ileopsoas

    Member

  • Members
  • 110 posts

Posted 25 January 2014 - 04:27 AM

You always MUST spend all of your activation points on the cards you play.

the ONLY exception is you have no disk not already activated IN PLAY left. So if you hold someone in reserve, when all of your diks in play are either activated or pinned, you can CHOOSE to spend an activaation point to reinforce it or let the point waste.

REMEMBER: you must play your strategy card even if your disk are all activated if your opponents has some unactivated disk left, even if all those points will be wasted.


  • SolennelBern likes this

#4 ziggy2000

ziggy2000

    Member

  • Members
  • 743 posts

Posted 01 February 2014 - 09:53 PM

You always MUST spend all of your activation points on the cards you play.

the ONLY exception is you have no disk not already activated IN PLAY left. So if you hold someone in reserve, when all of your diks in play are either activated or pinned, you can CHOOSE to spend an activaation point to reinforce it or let the point waste.

REMEMBER: you must play your strategy card even if your disk are all activated if your opponents has some unactivated disk left, even if all those points will be wasted.

If you play a command card with no disks to activate, can you still use the ability? Example:  I play Rally when I have no more disks that I can activate.  Can I use the ability to remove an activation token from a target disk? Can I then activate that disk on the same turn, or wait for a subsequent turn?



#5 Bright Wizard

Bright Wizard

    Member

  • Members
  • 84 posts

Posted 01 February 2014 - 10:58 PM

Yes, yes and you can activate immediately.
  • SolennelBern and MechaBri.Zilla like this

#6 ziggy2000

ziggy2000

    Member

  • Members
  • 743 posts

Posted 02 February 2014 - 12:15 AM

Thanks. From the Combat Abilities wording in the rulebook I thought it worked this way, but I wanted to make sure.



#7 Dark Bunny Lord

Dark Bunny Lord

    Member

  • Members
  • 346 posts

Posted 04 February 2014 - 10:50 AM

Wait what? I thought it said very clearly that you couldn't play command cards if all of your disks where pinned or activated.

Page 8 under the Discard Command Cards section (step 3), "Players then return to the choose command card step unless all of their disks are activated or pinnned".



#8 ziggy2000

ziggy2000

    Member

  • Members
  • 743 posts

Posted 04 February 2014 - 11:03 AM

Wait what? I thought it said very clearly that you couldn't play command cards if all of your disks where pinned or activated.

Page 8 under the Discard Command Cards section (step 3), "Players then return to the choose command card step unless all of their disks are activated or pinnned".

Please correct me if I'm wrong.

 

If all disk for all players are pinned or activated, then you can move on to Melee phase. If even one player has any disks that are NOT pinned or activated, ALL players must choose and reveal command cards.


  • Ileopsoas likes this

#9 Ileopsoas

Ileopsoas

    Member

  • Members
  • 110 posts

Posted 04 February 2014 - 11:42 AM

exact

Wait what? I thought it said very clearly that you couldn't play command cards if all of your disks where pinned or activated.
Page 8 under the Discard Command Cards section (step 3), "Players then return to the choose command card step unless all of their disks are activated or pinnned".

Please correct me if I'm wrong.
 
If all disk for all players are pinned or activated, then you can move on to Melee phase. If even one player has any disks that are NOT pinned or activated, ALL players must choose and reveal command cards.

exact. so consider this : you keep playing cards until alla disks in game are activated

#10 Dark Bunny Lord

Dark Bunny Lord

    Member

  • Members
  • 346 posts

Posted 04 February 2014 - 11:07 PM

 

Wait what? I thought it said very clearly that you couldn't play command cards if all of your disks where pinned or activated.

Page 8 under the Discard Command Cards section (step 3), "Players then return to the choose command card step unless all of their disks are activated or pinnned".

Please correct me if I'm wrong.

 

If all disk for all players are pinned or activated, then you can move on to Melee phase. If even one player has any disks that are NOT pinned or activated, ALL players must choose and reveal command cards.

 

Well if it said "all disks for all players" then yeah but it says "unless all of THEIR disks are activated or pinned", their I take as suggesting ownership of each individuals disks. I mean it kind of makes sense, why would you be able to play command cards if you have no units to command.

I think I'll wait for the FAQ on this one though our group didn't seem to disagree on this point at all thus far.


Edited by Dark Bunny Lord, 04 February 2014 - 11:19 PM.


#11 Ser Folly

Ser Folly

    Member

  • Members
  • 239 posts

Posted 05 February 2014 - 12:05 AM

 

 

I mean it kind of makes sense, why would you be able to play command cards if you have no units to command.

 

It makes sense because you could for example play a command card that has an effect that lets you remove an activation token. You could then activate that disk in the same round. Other possible effects are magical attacks on command cards. I know from my first game, that these can be very decisive as all but wound tokens (so damage too) are removed at the end of a round.

 

Edit: If you're talking about it making sense on a thematical/realism level, I have to agree. BUT I think I could come up with a bunch of unrealistic rules in the game which are there to keep it fast paced.


Edited by Ser Folly, 05 February 2014 - 05:59 AM.

  • MechaBri.Zilla likes this

Descent - Star Wars LCG - Netrunner - X-Wing - Arkham Horror - Elder Sign - Battlestar Galactica - Warhammer: Diskwars - Kingsburg - Edge of the Empire - Civilization - Bloodbowl Teammanager - Rune Age - Letters from Whitechapel - Cadwallon - Lord of the Rings LCG ... looks like I love FFG stuff :huh:


#12 Ksedih

Ksedih

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 19 March 2014 - 07:09 AM

I play Rally when I have one disk that I can activate.  Can I use the ability to remove an activation token from that disk after it moved? Can I then activate that disk on the same turn?



#13 Bright Wizard

Bright Wizard

    Member

  • Members
  • 84 posts

Posted 19 March 2014 - 09:12 AM

I play Rally when I have one disk that I can activate. Can I use the ability to remove an activation token from that disk after it moved? Can I then activate that disk on the same turn?


Nothing in the rules prevents that. So, yes.

Edited by Bright Wizard, 19 March 2014 - 09:12 AM.





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS