Jump to content



Photo

Using Hero Faramir in Blood of Gondor


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Thanatopsis

Thanatopsis

    Member

  • Members
  • 87 posts

Posted 23 January 2014 - 05:00 PM

Please check my logic:

 

Step 2 of Setup is "Place Heroes"

This would put Hero Faramir into play

 

Step 7 of Setup is "Follow Scenario Setup Instructions

At this point Blood of Gondor Stage 1A would occur

"... Put the Faramir and Lord Alcaron objective allies into play."

 

The unique card rules states:

"If any player has a unique card in play, no player can

play or put into play another card with the same title.

Any attempt to do so will fail to the extent that the card

attempting to enter play remains in its current location

(hand, deck, discard pile) and does not enter play."

  

Basically, this setup step would backfire and only Alcaron would enter play.

 

Not sure why someone would do this.  Maybe they really want to use the Faramir ally.



#2 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 959 posts

Posted 23 January 2014 - 10:16 PM

Well, you couldn't use the Faramir ally if the Faramir hero was in play.

 

Anyway, I believe the rules insert for this quest says specifically that the players cannot use any Faramir cards.

 

edit: no, I can't find that line in the Blood of Gondor quest, maybe it was in Morgul Vale... I seem to remember reading that somewhere.  

 

edit again: I found it, there is something about not using any version of Faramir in the Morgul Vale quest.  

 

Heck, I dunno, maybe you're right and it is legal to use the Faramir hero here and just prevent the ally from coming into play :)  Of course, he'll still get captured on the 2nd stage...


Edited by GrandSpleen, 23 January 2014 - 10:32 PM.


#3 Olorin93

Olorin93

    Member

  • Members
  • 146 posts

Posted 24 January 2014 - 02:26 AM

My guess is you simply can't use the Faramir hero if a Faramir objective ally is present in the scenario. I always take out my Arwen allies from my deck when playing Redhorn Gate or Road to Rivendell as I can't play them anyway.



#4 jjeagle

jjeagle

    Member

  • Members
  • 334 posts

Posted 24 January 2014 - 03:15 AM

I think Thanatopsis' interpretation of the set-up rules is correct. It's only Morgul Vale that specifically prohibits the use of Faramir.


"I have no help to send, therefore I must go myself."





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS