Jump to content



Photo

Bow, Assassin and Glimmer/Blink


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Croonos

Croonos

    Member

  • Members
  • 161 posts

Posted 20 January 2014 - 01:38 AM

Bow is used at the start of battle and therefore is not an attack roll. Die roll is added to the attack score instead.
Assassin ability: "your victim may not roll a die to add to his Strength". I think Assassin's opponent can not use the bow as it does not add (any) die roll result.
Glimmer/Blink: "you may not roll a die for your attack roll". Attack roll is not executed at the beginning of the battle (as for a bow).
Can a character use a bow when fighting Glimmer or Blink?



#2 talismanisland

talismanisland

    Harbourmaster

  • Members
  • 1,921 posts

Posted 20 January 2014 - 03:40 AM

Though the wording might not be explicit in the case of the Bow, the intention of Blink and Glimmer is that they are a surprise attack and can only be fought using your "base" Strength and Craft as you would not have time to do anything else.

 

However, I suppose if you think about it, you could get a lucky bow shot off (if you were Legolas), so which ever way you play it would be okay by me!


Harbourmaster at Talisman Island - 15 magical years and counting!

Sometimes I even update the Talisman Island Facebook Page!

#3 Croonos

Croonos

    Member

  • Members
  • 161 posts

Posted 20 January 2014 - 04:20 AM

However, I suppose if you think about it, you could get a lucky bow shot off (if you were Legolas), so which ever way you play it would be okay by me!

That's how I thought so! :lol: 
Thanks for the quick and funny clarification from designer! I hope you will be responsible for the next expasions and updated FAQ (probably issued only after 4th corner). Who knows more about the world of Talisman!



#4 GrimGuvna

GrimGuvna

    Member

  • Members
  • 98 posts

Posted 23 January 2014 - 05:27 AM

When you assassinate, battle takes place as normal except that your victim may not roll a die to add to his Strength. If you win, you must force the loser to lose 1 life; you cannot take an Object or gold instead.

 

You may use a bow against the Assassin as the battle takes place as normal.  The only difference is that you do not roll that core die roll to add to your strength.  All other weapons can be used as make an impact so the bow should as well.

 

The Elfy comparison is apt.  It makes the Assassins stalk far more dangerous when his prey can strike from afar.



#5 Uvatha

Uvatha

    Member

  • Members
  • 416 posts

Posted 17 May 2014 - 07:07 PM

So the conculsion is we can play it either way?

 

But the intention was no because "they are a surprise attack and can only be fought using your "base" Strength and Craft".

 

Have I got that right :).



#6 Croonos

Croonos

    Member

  • Members
  • 161 posts

Posted 19 May 2014 - 01:54 AM

Definitely you got the right! As in Talisman you can play in many ways and always find players who will stick to his guns and even prove it to you. However, in the meantime others will find that it is the exact opposite :)


#7 Uvatha

Uvatha

    Member

  • Members
  • 416 posts

Posted 18 June 2014 - 07:15 PM

 

Definitely you got the right! As in Talisman you can play in many ways and always find players who will stick to his guns and even prove it to you. However, in the meantime others will find that it is the exact opposite :)

 

So thats just saying "we can play it either way" :)



#8 talismanamsilat

talismanamsilat

    Talisman Veteran

  • Members
  • 1,265 posts

Posted 19 June 2014 - 05:33 AM

Personally I believe the correct way to handle assassination, is that the victim may not roll a die to add to his Strength which is also referred to as "attack roll" in the rulebook. This however does not prevent the victim from using a Bow and using it in conjunction with Marked for Glory. There is just no normal attack roll!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS