Jump to content



Photo

Expanding large monsters for attack


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Exelor

Exelor

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 17 January 2014 - 08:38 AM

Hi,

 

I have read on old threads about moving large/huge monsters but am still left with one question. Is it allowed to expand a monster that is shrunk to one square mid move in order to attack even though this one square version is not yet adjacent to the target? This would save one movement point as when expanding you will be able to position your monster adjacent to the target.

 

I appreciate any feedback.

 

Cheers,

Kjetil



#2 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 484 posts

Posted 17 January 2014 - 10:21 AM

According to the Errata, you must be able to perform the action from the square you are in BEFORE you expand. (It's worded a little vague, but general consensus is that's what's meant by it)

 

So for a melee large monster, you could not move to 2 square away, expand so you are adjacent, then attack, and shrink again to continue moving.

 

You would have to move to be adjacent, expand from there, perform the attack, then shrink from any square to continue moving.



#3 Sixko

Sixko

    Member

  • Members
  • 107 posts

Posted 30 March 2014 - 11:56 PM

According to the Errata, you must be able to perform the action from the square you are in BEFORE you expand. (It's worded a little vague, but general consensus is that's what's meant by it)

 

So for a melee large monster, you could not move to 2 square away, expand so you are adjacent, then attack, and shrink again to continue moving.

 

You would have to move to be adjacent, expand from there, perform the attack, then shrink from any square to continue moving.

 

Sorry, but I am not finding this information in the v1.3 errata, am I missing something or has this been removed?



#4 BigBadUnshaved

BigBadUnshaved

    Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 31 March 2014 - 12:42 AM

It's right on the first page of the errata

Rulebook
Page 16, “Large Monsters”: Add, “When interrupting a large monster’s
movement to perform an action, the overlord must be able to declare the
action that the large monster will perform before placing the monster’s
figure on the map.”

They don't use the word expand here, but the meaning is the same.


Edited by BigBadUnshaved, 31 March 2014 - 12:43 AM.


#5 Sixko

Sixko

    Member

  • Members
  • 107 posts

Posted 31 March 2014 - 02:21 AM

It's right on the first page of the errata

Rulebook
Page 16, “Large Monsters”: Add, “When interrupting a large monster’s
movement to perform an action, the overlord must be able to declare the
action that the large monster will perform before placing the monster’s
figure on the map.”

They don't use the word expand here, but the meaning is the same.

 

Cheers, I was looking under "Monsters" on page 4 :)

So the previous rulings regarding "0 point movement" is out of the window then?



#6 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 484 posts

Posted 31 March 2014 - 09:39 AM

So the previous rulings regarding "0 point movement" is out of the window then?

 

I believe so. I think these were unofficial (i.e. FFG Sez) rulings before that specific Errata had been implemented.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS