Jump to content



Photo

Question on Surges


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 svranes

svranes

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 11 January 2014 - 09:08 PM

I have a quick question on the way the surge mechanic works.  I'm playing OL and the heroes and I have a disagreement on how some of the gameplay mechanics work.

 

For example, the Infector I "Contaminated" card states that each monster gains a surge that infects the target.  Does this mean that it's as if that surge is rolled with the dice?  For example, if I roll a blue and red die with hearts on both, but no surges, is this surge added to the roll?  Or is this card's ability ineffective because because no surges were rolled?

 

Similarly, the Basic II "Unctonrolled Power" card says the attach gains a surge of Suffer One Fatigue.  Does that mean that, even if no surges are rolled, there is one fatigue suffered, regardless?

 

Or do these cards simply add a potential surge option should you roll enough surges?

 

I hope my question is clear on this.  Thanks in advance for any clarification.

 

We have a second question as well - I've used a blast/sweep option before, and the heroes have the "Heavy Cloak" Shop I item card. It cancles one surge on an attack targeting that hero.  They state that this includes all in the attack - meaning all in the sweep.  I disagree - even though it is one attack, each hero is treated separately for defensive purposes.

 

Thank you all for any help.



#2 rfisha

rfisha

    Member

  • Members
  • 203 posts

Posted 11 January 2014 - 10:33 PM

For example, the Infector I "Contaminated" card states that each monster gains a surge that infects the target.  Does this mean that it's as if that surge is rolled with the dice?  For example, if I roll a blue and red die with hearts on both, but no surges, is this surge added to the roll?  Or is this card's ability ineffective because because no surges were rolled?

 

 

The cards ability is ineffective because you rolled no surges.  Essentially the card adds the infect surge ability to each attack as if it was written on the monster card, but does not add additional surges.

 

Similarly, the Basic II "Unctonrolled Power" card says the attach gains a surge of Suffer One Fatigue.  Does that mean that, even if no surges are rolled, there is one fatigue suffered, regardless?

 

 

Likewise, but in this instance you are spending the hero's surges.  So if the hero did not roll any surges (or add any from bonuses) there is none to spend.

 

 

We have a second question as well - I've used a blast/sweep option before, and the heroes have the "Heavy Cloak" Shop I item card. It cancles one surge on an attack targeting that hero.  They state that this includes all in the attack - meaning all in the sweep.  I disagree - even though it is one attack, each hero is treated separately for defensive purposes.

 

 

It would cancel the surge only for the targeting hero, so the other characters in the sweep would be effected.  



#3 flightmaster101

flightmaster101

    Member

  • Members
  • 174 posts

Posted 12 January 2014 - 12:03 AM

For example, the Infector I "Contaminated" card states that each monster gains a surge that infects the target. Does this mean that it's as if that surge is rolled with the dice? For example, if I roll a blue and red die with hearts on both, but no surges, is this surge added to the roll? Or is this card's ability ineffective because because no surges were rolled?

The surge on the card means you can spend surges yo infect your targets, it doesn't mean you add a surge to your roll.

Similarly, the Basic II "Unctonrolled Power" card says the attach gains a surge of Suffer One Fatigue. Does that mean that, even if no surges are rolled, there is one fatigue suffered, regardless?

Or do these cards simply add a potential surge option should you roll enough surges?

If a hero rolls surges you can spend one of them to make him suffer a fatigue.

I find it helpful to think of surges as currency, and abilities like a store. You can gather surges and spend them on abilities, but only purchase 1 surge ability per attack roll.

Lastly I agree with rfisha, each hero defends independently, so one wielding the cloak would not cancel an effect on the entire group.

Hope this helps!

Edited by flightmaster101, 12 January 2014 - 12:07 AM.


#4 rfisha

rfisha

    Member

  • Members
  • 203 posts

Posted 12 January 2014 - 12:20 AM

Just to add as well, that Dirty Fighting in Basic II does allow the OL to add an additional surge, so the OL could use Dirty Fighting in combination with Contamination to add a surge and spend it on an infection token.  Personally, I like to use it alongside Flurry for a second attack.



#5 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 392 posts

Posted 14 January 2014 - 11:46 AM

We have a second question as well - I've used a blast/sweep option before, and the heroes have the "Heavy Cloak" Shop I item card. It cancles one surge on an attack targeting that hero.  They state that this includes all in the attack - meaning all in the sweep.  I disagree - even though it is one attack, each hero is treated separately for defensive purposes.

 

There's a difference between an attack that "targets" a figure and an attack that "affects" a figure. The heavy cloak only works against attacks that specifically target that hero.

 

Also keep in mind that surges aren't spent on each hero individually, nor do they affect each hero separately. They affect the entire attack.

 

As such, if an attack targets that hero, but affects other heroes, the cloak may cancel one surge on the entire attack (which includes the effects applied to everyone affected). This is because some abilities that spend surges can't be considered separate per hero (e.g. Fire Breath, mending, etc.) Basically, if a surge is cancelled, this happens before any surges are spent. Once all surges are spent, then that attack is applied to everyone affected.  

 

However, if the attack targets another hero (or no heroes), but merely affects the figure with the cloak, the cloak may not be used at all.



#6 svranes

svranes

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 20 January 2014 - 10:26 AM

Been a while since I checked the boards.

 

Thank you very much for your help in clarifying everything!


  • evilhead likes this




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS