Jump to content



Photo

Stamina Question


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 kaltorak

kaltorak

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 03:32 AM

Hi, I read various comments on Stamina in the other threads but the rule is still shady for me.

 

Let's use these example.

 

1)Empire Disk A (Toughness: 5, Stamina: 1) is pinned by 2 Orc Disks (B and C) with Attack: 5.

 

2)Empire Disk A (Toughness: 5, Stamina: 1) is pinned by 2 Orc Disks (B with Attack 6 and C with Attack 4).

 

What happens in both cases?

 

Thanks in advance!

 

Umberto Pignatelli

 

 



#2 Tenrousei

Tenrousei

    Member

  • Members
  • 289 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 07:09 AM

If these are the only engagements that these disks have you would resolve them in this order:

 

1) A: Orc Disks B and C would place 5 points of damage tokens on Empire Disk A. Empire Disk A would place its damage tokens on either Orc B or C.

1) B: At the end of the Engagement all damage tokens would be removed from Empire A and one wound token would be placed on it.

 

The same would happen in the second scenario.  Basically, a disk w/ stamina can have as much damage on it during any ONE phase and only receive 1 wound token.

 

IF a disk with stamina receives enough damage during the Activation phase to place a wound on it, then I believe it could receive a second one during the following Melee phase.

 

Hope this helps.


Edited by Tenrousei, 09 January 2014 - 07:10 AM.

It's a game: have fun.  If is stops being fun, stop playing.

The greatest evil is the indifference of good men.


#3 Bright Wizard

Bright Wizard

    Member

  • Members
  • 75 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 07:48 AM

The timing actually does not include the whole phase. It is based on a specific point of time. The short answer to the question is that in both cases that you presented, the disk takes one wound and that's it.

The long answer is that it all depends if the disk is receiving damage at the same time or not.

The toughest one I think is if there are disks with swift involved. Lets say Chaos disks A Swift (attack) and attack value 5 and disk B attack value 5 but not Swift are attacking Empire disk C Toughness 4 and Stamina 1. Disk A would deal damage first due to Swift causing one wound then Disk B would deal its damage causing a second wound and destroying Disk C.

Edited by Bright Wizard, 09 January 2014 - 07:48 AM.


#4 kaltorak

kaltorak

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 08:33 AM

Thanks everybody for the Swift ;)  answer!



#5 dkartzinel

dkartzinel

    Member

  • Members
  • 72 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 11:20 AM

@Bright Wizard and Tenrousei

Where is this in the rules?  I was looking, and the only thing I could find was pages 9 and 10, which actually says whenever a disk has damage on it equal to or exceeding its toughness, it takes a wound, so it seems like in A, the disk with stamina would die to me.  What am I missing?



#6 Murnaz

Murnaz

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 04:15 PM

This is unclear to me. On page 21 of the rulebook, under "Wounds", it reads: "when a disk with stamina is dealt damage, no more than 1 wound marker is placed on it regardless of how much damage was dealt." 

 

Now, to me, this means that no one individual attack can cause more than one wound. For example, if a River Troll were to use its Strength 10 ranged attack on a Toughness 5 disk, the disk would receive one wound and the remaining 5 damage would be ignored. 

 

But, again, this is on an "attack by attack" basis, so in example 1 above, the disk would receive 2 Wounds and be killed. Individually, each of the Orc disks does enough damage to wound the target, so the target dies.

 

In example 2, the disk would end up with ONE wound, because the disk with the attack strength of 4 doesn't do enough damage to wound.

 

This is how I interpret the rule. Anyone else wanna weigh in here?



#7 AngryMojo

AngryMojo

    Member

  • Members
  • 90 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 04:27 PM

In addition to the wording on page 21, the example on page 10 helps.  In the example, Karl Franz takes six damage, one over his toughness of five.  The Orc Boyz takes five, one over their toughness of four.  The second step illustrates the results, Karl Franz has a single wound with no damage tokens while the Orc Boyz are removed as a casualty.  This same example shows Franzs damage being taken simultaneously, implying that encounter damage is dealt at one time, thus is in the same pool.

 

Another specific thing I'd like addressed in the FAQ.



#8 Murnaz

Murnaz

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 04:37 PM

In addition to the wording on page 21, the example on page 10 helps.  In the example, Karl Franz takes six damage, one over his toughness of five.  The Orc Boyz takes five, one over their toughness of four.  The second step illustrates the results, Karl Franz has a single wound with no damage tokens while the Orc Boyz are removed as a casualty.  This same example shows Franzs damage being taken simultaneously, implying that encounter damage is dealt at one time, thus is in the same pool.

 

Hypothetically, if each of the Orc Units had a Counter Strength of 5 damage, would Karl Franz be killed in this engagement?



#9 AngryMojo

AngryMojo

    Member

  • Members
  • 90 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 04:58 PM

No he would not, the damage is being dealt simultaneously and the wording on page 21 indicates that "When a disk with stamina is dealt damage, no more than 1 wound token is placed on it regardless of how much damage was dealt."  The sidebar for stamina on page 10 reads "When a disk with stamina takes a wound, it is only removed as a casualty if it already has wound tokens on ite equal to its stamina.  Otherwise, remove all damage tokens from it and replace them with a wound token."  This states that no matter how much damage is dealt in excess of the targets toughness, only one wound is dealt per incident of damage.  This is why in the previous example where Karl Franz is dealt six wound markers, he receives one wound total and the excess damage is removed.

 

As another example;

Azhag the Slaughterer is flipped into the middle of a large formation, pinning four disks.  He winds up taking 12 damage, far in excess of his toughness of five.  He takes a total of one wound, assuming none of the disks he's pinning have swift on counter.  All excess damage is removed, leaving Azhag with a single wound token.


Edited by AngryMojo, 09 January 2014 - 04:58 PM.


#10 Murnaz

Murnaz

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 05:03 PM

Well, I've been doing that totally wrong.  :unsure:  Thanks for the clarification. 



#11 snigwiddle

snigwiddle

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 05:05 PM

I thought I had this down, but now I am confused again.

I agree with what  Murnaz is saying.

I really wish someone could clear this up.



#12 dkartzinel

dkartzinel

    Member

  • Members
  • 72 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 05:06 PM

Again, very happy to be wrong, where does it say that the damage is dealt simultaneously though?



#13 Gazery

Gazery

    Member

  • Members
  • 82 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 05:12 PM

I agree with AngryMojo, I won't restate what he said but say that that is how I have understood the rules. This, of course, may not be what was intended but it is as I have interpreted it.



#14 AngryMojo

AngryMojo

    Member

  • Members
  • 90 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 05:18 PM

Well, I've been doing that totally wrong.  :unsure:  Thanks for the clarification. 

No worries, there are a lot of questionable wordings in the rulebook.  I'm really looking forward to the FAQ.



#15 Bright Wizard

Bright Wizard

    Member

  • Members
  • 75 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 05:31 PM

@dkartzinel - the key of stamina is timing. I don't think it is coincidental that every other quote front he rules that we used in this thread starts with "when". Damage in a given engagement is dealt at the same time. This is what give meaning to Swift and Slow which are the abilities that change timing of damage dealt on a given engagement.

Example: Orc A and Orc B are attacking Elf C (chooses to deal damage to A). If none of them have Swift or Slow, the damage is resolved and dealt and the same time. Therefore, A and B would not be able to deal more than one wound total to C in this engagement. If C had Swift, it could potentially take out one of the attackers before it was dealt damage by that attacker.

If one of the attacking disks have Swift or Slow, this would create potential that their attack could cause more than one wound, as long as the first attack dealt enough damage (by itself or cumulative with damage dealt earlier in the round) to cause one wound. In this case, the damage caused by the second attacker would be additional to the wound caused by the first attacker.

AngryMojp has it right. Even though it would not hurt to have it addressed on an FAQ, I am not sure it is really necessary.

I hope this makes sense.

#16 snigwiddle

snigwiddle

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 06:07 PM

So there really is no benefit to attack a single disk with multiple attackers if at least one can do the single wound, correct?

(Other than having another pinning disk if the first one gets killed).

 

Think I'm getting it, I hope.



#17 Bright Wizard

Bright Wizard

    Member

  • Members
  • 75 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 06:09 PM

You are correct. It helps if the multiple disks have a mix of regular attack, Swift and/or Slow.

#18 snigwiddle

snigwiddle

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 06:15 PM

Ok.Thanks to all for helping me get a handle on this awesome game.

Bright Wizard, your comments here and on BGG have really been awesome.

Did you work on this game or playtest?

Your rules interpretations have been insightful and well reasoned.

Thanks again.



#19 Bright Wizard

Bright Wizard

    Member

  • Members
  • 75 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 06:31 PM

Thank you for the kind remarks. I think Diskwars is rapidly developing an awesome community. There are so many helpful and insightful remarks here and at BGG. I love Diskwars and have been a fan since the original game came out. I did, in fact, participate in the playtest. I only comment on rules questions that I am sure or pretty sure about (although I could always be wrong). Naturally, I am not affiliated with FFG and everything I say is unofficial. I just try to get the questions I know, answered as quickly as possible so people can move on and keep playing the game.
  • AngryMojo, kaltorak, MechaBri.Zilla and 2 others like this

#20 brassbgeek

brassbgeek

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 09:23 PM

Now the difference here is during a scrum.

 

The real issues begin to occur when you have so many engagements on top of eachother that figuring out who starts where, and when damage occurs could become an issue.

 

every single game of this I have played has had a really climactic battle occuring with many massive scrums and I was going to try and write an example, but unless I had a picture of one of said battles in front of me, the example would be too confusing for both me and everyone reading. So I am just going to mention the confusing battles and hope someone more competent comes to the front with a good example and explanations :-P.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS