Jump to content



Photo

Draco and Parasite (Chum)


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 wildhawk

wildhawk

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 07 January 2014 - 08:08 AM

I have some questions about sequence of time frame related with Draco / Parasite / Chum.

Situation :
A Draco is in play with 2 power counters on it, and is hosting a Parasite with 1 counter.

The Draco is now targeted with Emergency Shutdown, and derezzed.

In Runner's next turn(Parasite has 2 virus counters), 

the Runner runs the server protected by the Draco, and Corp decides to rez it.

 

What happens?

1) Draco is trashed because of Parasite's constant ability

2) Corp has get the chance to save the Draco by adding power counter(s) on it

 

 

 

 

 

Moreover, let's talk about a draco behind (next) Chum.
Runner encounters chum and triggered the subroutine of the Chum.

Then the Runner encounters the draco which is mentioned above.

 

What happens?
1) Draco is trashed because of Parasite's constant ability
2) Draco is not trashed and has 5 strength during the run

 

Thank you!
 


Edited by wildhawk, 07 January 2014 - 08:11 AM.


#2 etherial

etherial

    Member

  • Members
  • 222 posts

Posted 07 January 2014 - 09:03 AM

We had this same conversation on boardgamegeek. We were leaning toward "The Runner applies her Parasite's constant effect, killing the Draco, before the Corp can apply his conditional effect to add power counters".

 

http://boardgamegeek...rticle/14211055



#3 Smilingknight

Smilingknight

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 07 January 2014 - 09:03 AM

I'm almost certain that constant abilities take place before triggered abilities, Draco is trashed instantly when it is rezzed with a hosted parasite that makes its strength 0. And if anyone makes the argument that parasite's trashing is a triggered ability, the runner's go off first during the runner's turn.

As for the chum, the drako wouldn't technically be encountered as it would be trashed on approach, so if there is another ice on the server it could be the target of the chum effect.




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS