Jump to content



Photo

Doomed x


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Tracker1

Tracker1

    Member

  • Members
  • 652 posts

Posted 04 January 2014 - 08:46 AM

Will the abilities of the allies that are connected to Doom x trigger from revealed cards in the encounter deck or just player cards that have the keyword?
'At last' said Aragorn 'Here are the tracks that we seek!'

#2 jjeagle

jjeagle

    Member

  • Members
  • 346 posts

Posted 04 January 2014 - 11:54 AM

Will the abilities of the allies that are connected to Doom x trigger from revealed cards in the encounter deck or just player cards that have the keyword?

 

Can't see any reason they won't trigger off both player cards and encounter cards.


"I have no help to send, therefore I must go myself."


#3 Tracker1

Tracker1

    Member

  • Members
  • 652 posts

Posted 04 January 2014 - 01:15 PM

After looking at some of the player cards they all say " after you raise your threat from the doomed keyword, x happens"
If the designers intended it to be anytime the doomed keyword triggers why not say " after the your threat is raised from the doomed keyword, x happens"

"You raise your threat" sort of implies that you were the reason your threat was raised, so I am starting to think these types of player cards only trigger when "you" raise your threat through the action of a player card.

I could be wrong. Are there other cards like this that use "you" that can be compared. I'm wondering if this will need an official response, or maybe I am overthiking it.
'At last' said Aragorn 'Here are the tracks that we seek!'

#4 Bullroarer Took

Bullroarer Took

    Member

  • Members
  • 804 posts

Posted 04 January 2014 - 02:12 PM

I have a hunch that you are over thinking it.  They could have used a new keyword that also raised the players threat but didn't so I think that event cards work as well.  Also, we'll probably see some Doomed cancellation in the cycle and they don't want you double dipping.  I.e. canceling the threat raise and still taking advantage of the Doomed trigger.


Nearly all of my comments are from the perspective of the single handed solo player.

#5 jjeagle

jjeagle

    Member

  • Members
  • 346 posts

Posted 04 January 2014 - 05:11 PM

After looking at some of the player cards they all say " after you raise your threat from the doomed keyword, x happens"
If the designers intended it to be anytime the doomed keyword triggers why not say " after the your threat is raised from the doomed keyword, x happens"

"You raise your threat" sort of implies that you were the reason your threat was raised, so I am starting to think these types of player cards only trigger when "you" raise your threat through the action of a player card.

I could be wrong. Are there other cards like this that use "you" that can be compared. I'm wondering if this will need an official response, or maybe I am overthiking it.

 

I see the distinction you are drawing here - looking at some older cards, wordings seem to be a little haphazard.

 

Elfhelm "After your threat is raised"

Song of Earendil "After another player raises his threat"

 

So I don't _think_ the designers are introducing a distinction between "raising your threat" (by your own cards/actions) and "your threat being raised" (by the encounter deck/end of turn effect).


"I have no help to send, therefore I must go myself."


#6 Tracker1

Tracker1

    Member

  • Members
  • 652 posts

Posted 06 January 2014 - 12:54 PM

I followed up on this just in case, so I had to ask. Here is the answer.

If you raise your threat for the doomed keyword, whether from a player card or encounter card, you have still raised your threat for the doomed keyword. Thus any effect that triggers "after you raise your threat from the doomed keyword" will trigger, regardless of the source of the doomed keyword.
Cheers,
Caleb

Edited by Tracker1, 06 January 2014 - 12:55 PM.

'At last' said Aragorn 'Here are the tracks that we seek!'

#7 chuckles

chuckles

    Member

  • Members
  • 174 posts

Posted 12 January 2014 - 04:58 PM

Thanks for getting clarification. 


"Do not believe him! He has lost all power, save his voice that can still daunt you and deceive you, if you let it."

 





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS