Runner Deck Building Concern

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 flatscan

flatscan

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 29 December 2013 - 07:21 PM

I'm new to Netrunner (I've only ever played a a dozen or same games with the same two friends) and working on my first custom deck (got a few expansion packs as a gift). So I am curious about people's opinions of a few basic deck building ideas.

Card Type Proportions

First and foremost, I am curious about how best to balance specific card types in a deck and how important this is in Netrunner. A particular concern I'm having: I know you are only able to have one console out at a time, but how much hardware is useful to have in a deck? 

Influence

Next, is the rule of influence. The runner I am thinking of using allows for for first copy of each program to not count against my influence limit (he has an influence of 1) which to me sounds like a great idea, but is it worth the loss of possibly having a multiple copies of a few good cards that cost influence? Really I guess my question is how much a role of cards that cost influence play in deck building.

Deck Size

As someone who has played MTG for years, I'm pretty familiar with the issues of wanting a large deck so all the cards you want are in there but keeping the size small enough so that your odds of getting the cards you want is still hight enough, for me it was always 60-85ish. What's a gouda rough deck size boundary for Netrunner?

Thanks guys! ^______^

Gracias, 

#2 nungunz

nungunz

• Members
  • 252 posts

Posted 29 December 2013 - 11:15 PM

Card Type Proportions

First and foremost, I am curious about how best to balance specific card types in a deck and how important this is in Netrunner. A particular concern I'm having: I know you are only able to have one console out at a time, but how much hardware is useful to have in a deck?