Jump to content



Photo

Terminator Armor and Precognitive Dodge


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#21 BrotharTearer

BrotharTearer

    Member

  • Members
  • 489 posts

Posted 15 January 2014 - 04:34 PM

The even simpler and easier way is "Whatever your GM says".

 

Not really, as that implies the GM having to choose between options. How is that simpler or easier in any way than a pre-determined short answer of disallowing it, making it a non-issue?


Edited by BrotharTearer, 15 January 2014 - 04:35 PM.


#22 Calgor Grim

Calgor Grim

    Member

  • Members
  • 444 posts

Posted 15 January 2014 - 05:05 PM

I appreciate the comment BrotharTearer. Yes you could just give a flat "No" ruling and leave it at that which is a simple option I'll admit. I may have wrongly said simpler and easier, more intriguing was perhaps better, I should maybe correct that! Intriguing since it leaves the opportunity for a new and possibly interesting house rule.


Loyal Missionary Father Grim of the Kingston 293rd Storm Troopers


#23 BrotharTearer

BrotharTearer

    Member

  • Members
  • 489 posts

Posted 16 January 2014 - 04:46 PM

Yes, perhaps. But also imbalances.



#24 Leto

Leto

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 30 January 2014 - 05:39 AM

I say No, you can't dodge in TDA. Calgor Grim have already explained why.

Being unable to dodge is a serious disadvantage, but it's TDA after all. But we did invent over solution, we just allowed terminators to use two fields at once. First you test your normal field, like convertion field, and if it fails, then you cant test the armors inbuilt "field". Cause the description there says its not a field, but just REALLY STRONG armour plating. Cheesy, but not really overpowering.



#25 Drachdhar

Drachdhar

    Member

  • Members
  • 152 posts

Posted 02 February 2014 - 11:30 AM

Makes sense to me as well Leto...

 

But by the same token in a way, Precognitive Dodge could be interpreted in many ways depending on the incoming attack... Especially in the case of Terminator Armour, maybe you move slightly so the shot automatically hits one of those thicker areas of the armor normally "under the effect of the field save", or perhaps you batter a bolt shell/solid projectile/grenade out of the air with your basically indestructible force weapon.

 

Or what if your psyker is under the effect of warptime? Still no "Dodges", but now the psykers senses and reactions are hypersensitive... and he can move very fast even in terminator armour.

 

Fluff vs Mechanics, age old battle.


Edited by Drachdhar, 02 February 2014 - 11:31 AM.


#26 BrotharTearer

BrotharTearer

    Member

  • Members
  • 489 posts

Posted 02 February 2014 - 11:58 PM

I say No, you can't dodge in TDA. Calgor Grim have already explained why.

Being unable to dodge is a serious disadvantage, but it's TDA after all. But we did invent over solution, we just allowed terminators to use two fields at once. First you test your normal field, like convertion field, and if it fails, then you cant test the armors inbuilt "field". Cause the description there says its not a field, but just REALLY STRONG armour plating. Cheesy, but not really overpowering.

 

They don't stack. They're both fields (the TDA one counts as a field, though technically isn't one). Fields don't overlap. It's right there in the rules.


Edited by BrotharTearer, 03 February 2014 - 12:07 AM.


#27 Tenebrae

Tenebrae

    Member

  • Members
  • 977 posts

Posted 03 February 2014 - 05:09 AM

I say No, you can't dodge in TDA. Calgor Grim have already explained why.
Being unable to dodge is a serious disadvantage, but it's TDA after all. But we did invent over solution, we just allowed terminators to use two fields at once. First you test your normal field, like convertion field, and if it fails, then you cant test the armors inbuilt "field". Cause the description there says its not a field, but just REALLY STRONG armour plating. Cheesy, but not really overpowering.

 
They don't stack. They're both fields (the TDA one counts as a field, though technically isn't one). Fields don't overlap. It's right there in the rules.

He knows.

But we did invent over solution, we just allowed terminators to use two fields at once.

You even included the part where he indicated knowledge of this.

#28 Leto

Leto

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 11 February 2014 - 06:33 PM

you batter a bolt shell/solid projectile/grenade out of the air with your basically indestructible force weapon.

warptime

Heh. I used to play a heavily house ruled game, that actually allowed Warptimed Characters to parry some ranged attacks with a strong enough weapons. So you might as well use it, if you want. (BTW, the two fields rule was here too.)

With other things, like granting PR reactions, this made psykers OVEROVERPOWERING. Oddly enough, no player have ever used a warp time during that time, and the game quietly ended.

And yeah, I know. But I just prefer to ignore or change some rules that I don't like. There was another issue with that rule, with covering entire body with six Salvation Shields. Sort of fun it was.



#29 Drachdhar

Drachdhar

    Member

  • Members
  • 152 posts

Posted 21 February 2014 - 09:33 AM

Psykers kinda are very OP, at least at high Psy Ratings. They will fight better than everyone else, they will probably know alot more than most everyone else, they will succeed better at most skills than everyone else and to boot they can just turn anything into a pile of goo with a wave of their hands.

 

Precognitive Dodge

Precognitive Strike

Glimpse

Warptime

Abhorrent Ward(if Unaligned) - not really needed, but very OP

Blade of Baleful Might

= One beastly one man army



#30 BrotharTearer

BrotharTearer

    Member

  • Members
  • 489 posts

Posted 21 February 2014 - 02:43 PM

You can use Abhorrent Ward no matter what. It's the Exalted big brother that's insanely powerful, being a free sustain and nullifying actions.



#31 Drachdhar

Drachdhar

    Member

  • Members
  • 152 posts

Posted 21 February 2014 - 02:51 PM

Ah yes, it was the Exalted big brother I was thinking off... The lower one is just meh.

 

Add in Side Step, Lightning Attack and Blademaster and the psyker in question is almost immortal, bar a Vindicare Assassin or Culexus Assassin, or some other very skilled Null that can Dodge bolt shells.


Edited by Drachdhar, 21 February 2014 - 02:53 PM.





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS