Jump to content



Photo

Help me save my players!


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#21 Adeptus Ineptus

Adeptus Ineptus

    Member

  • Members
  • 292 posts

Posted 19 December 2013 - 05:53 PM

OK so DP goes by the name of Vevzar and had

WS BS S  T    Ag Int Per WP Fel  Inf    PR

65   60 50 60 60  60 60  70   75  130  6

Demonic 3, Wings etc.

 

Group landed (1 reroll used) and set out to find the book. A good roll to navigate got them overlooking a large(ish) room that looked like it was used for demon binding and Magos sensing DPs aproch went down, Renegade hides and PP drinks and does drugs (then rolls stupidly good on toughness and stays upright). DP shows up and attacks Magos (who dodges), Renegade shoots DP ( I used DoS vs DoS as DP had a dodge of 110 when all's said and done) and 9 damage - 6 TB - 3 Demonic = ping! Magos hit with his Multi-Melta for 20 damage and PP used the stun rules to show that cheep tricks work.

Next round Magos is oneshoted into crit by Hellish Blast, DP takes more Multi-Melta damage and then moves the wall to keep PP and Renegade out of the fight.

LoC shows up and Magos attacks it, as does DP.

DP had set up this room as a trap for LoC and used the book and the room to start binding him, says to Magos "Keep him here and you will live" and flys up, brings a sword down into LoC and starts binding him into it. The others to try to send a call to the demon they have the Dark Patronage with and offer the number of souls Dr Evil would want for an exit and pass a -10 infamy test (I would have said -20 but a number that high has it's own power). More rolls than I would call fun later (not too many it was just the same 3 things being rolled 7 turns in a row) and DP with the help of Magos have bound LoC in 3 swords that occupy the same place and just how ready DP was for this is seen (the sword went into the floor and more binding happened) and DP took Magos somewhere he couldn't make trouble, got the other two and explained that the demon they had Dark Patronage with was paying for their release and dropped them off by their ship so they could see that he had given it to the Word Bearers. PP (who wanted to start a new character as he hes lost his ship) started shooting and died.

DP took 50 damage, used 4 rerolls and I forgot to use his Fear rules.

Thank for all your help guys. :)


Edited by Adeptus Ineptus, 23 December 2013 - 03:10 PM.


#22 BrotharTearer

BrotharTearer

    Member

  • Members
  • 489 posts

Posted 21 December 2013 - 04:53 PM

You did many mistakes to put yourself in that situation.

 

He put a daemon into a flamer he just acquisitioned? Yeah, or not. How do you acquision a flamer that's wrought for purpose or has legacy of slaughter without your say-so? You can't.



#23 bogi_khaosa

bogi_khaosa

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,153 posts

Posted 21 December 2013 - 07:21 PM

Unless their Infamy is really low, you literally can't kill them.

 

So what are you worried about?

 

EDIT: And what Brother Tearer said. Why did you let them do this stuff? :)


Edited by bogi_khaosa, 21 December 2013 - 07:22 PM.


#24 Traejun

Traejun

    Member

  • Members
  • 300 posts

Posted 21 December 2013 - 10:40 PM

A lot GM's would rather let players break the game than upset them by saying no.

 

Word of advice from a 20-year GM: During character creation, say no more than you say yes.


  • bogi_khaosa, Routa-maa and Calgor Grim like this

#25 Adeptus Ineptus

Adeptus Ineptus

    Member

  • Members
  • 292 posts

Posted 22 December 2013 - 01:30 PM

You did many mistakes to put yourself in that situation.

 

He put a daemon into a flamer he just acquisitioned? Yeah, or not. How do you acquision a flamer that's wrought for purpose or has legacy of slaughter without your say-so? You can't.

Mostly by not double ckecking the rules as he made it I'm afraid. I'll blame LoC and screw him over later.

And it was a Multi-Melta with a Flamer of Tzeench in it.



#26 Terraneaux

Terraneaux

    Member

  • Members
  • 335 posts

Posted 22 December 2013 - 01:51 PM

A Demon Weapon doesn't need to be Wrought for Purpose or have a Legacy if your ritual skills are good enough.



#27 BrotharTearer

BrotharTearer

    Member

  • Members
  • 489 posts

Posted 22 December 2013 - 06:52 PM

 

You did many mistakes to put yourself in that situation.

 

He put a daemon into a flamer he just acquisitioned? Yeah, or not. How do you acquision a flamer that's wrought for purpose or has legacy of slaughter without your say-so? You can't.

Mostly by not double ckecking the rules as he made it I'm afraid. I'll blame LoC and screw him over later.

And it was a Multi-Melta with a Flamer of Tzeench in it.

 

 

Right. Not that it matters what daemon it is, seeing how most lesser daemons have no Infamy ratings and got 3 WPB.

 

In any case, you only have yourself to blame. Don't take it out on your players by screwing him over later. But next time someone wants to make a daemon weapon, you know what to do.

 

A Demon Weapon doesn't need to be Wrought for Purpose or have a Legacy if your ritual skills are good enough.

 

Yes it does. Read the bloody rules. Only weapons Wrought for Purpose, has Legacy of Slaughter (that's the sympatheric Legacy of Slaughter of the daemon weapon rules, not the Legacy out of ToB) or a Legacy weapon (out of ToB) can house a daemon as a daemon weapon. Doesn't matter how good you ritual skills are. If the weapon can't contain a daemon, it can't contain a daemon. That's why daemon weapons aren't a dime a dozen, like Legacy weapons are.


Edited by BrotharTearer, 22 December 2013 - 06:54 PM.


#28 Terraneaux

Terraneaux

    Member

  • Members
  • 335 posts

Posted 22 December 2013 - 08:01 PM

There's a whole section in there for 'Has never drawn blood' on the Demon Weapon chart.



#29 Adeptus Ineptus

Adeptus Ineptus

    Member

  • Members
  • 292 posts

Posted 23 December 2013 - 03:29 PM

I know my players enough to screw over their characters without upsetting them. As everyone had a good time I'm calling this a win but for those who want to know how I let this happen I work on the "All the rope you need" school of GMing and my players are what you see above.

Before anyone asks, yes they knew they could be looking at a TPK and were ready to roll up new characters at the start of the game and would have needed to if that was the way the game went. I was hoping to have somone else play the Damon Prince so DP and LoC would be able to surprise each other but he changed his mind.



#30 bogi_khaosa

bogi_khaosa

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,153 posts

Posted 23 December 2013 - 04:15 PM

There's a whole section in there for 'Has never drawn blood' on the Demon Weapon chart.

 

A wrought for purpose weapon that has never been used?



#31 Routa-maa

Routa-maa

    Member

  • Members
  • 563 posts

Posted 23 December 2013 - 04:34 PM

 

There's a whole section in there for 'Has never drawn blood' on the Demon Weapon chart.

 

A wrought for purpose weapon that has never been used?

"Legacy of Slaughter: Weapon has never drawn blood - Gives -30 to modifiers"


Muutokselle annamme Elämän, Elämälle annamme Muutoksen.

#32 BrotharTearer

BrotharTearer

    Member

  • Members
  • 489 posts

Posted 24 December 2013 - 12:23 AM

There's a whole section in there for 'Has never drawn blood' on the Demon Weapon chart.

 

Yes. Legacy of Slaughter weapons does not necessarily have needed to drawn blood. That's why it gives a large penalty. Because that doesn't make for the most optimal choice.

 

 

As an alternative to creating a weapon from scratch, an artisan may seek out a weapon which contains what sorcerers and dark scholars refer to as a “sympathetic emotional resonance.”

This means that the weapon itself has seen sufficient use in war and ritual, or has some particular connection to the daemon or its patron, to be powerfully charged with emotion to make it an ideal vessel for daemonic binding.

 

A weapon can be a Legacy of Slaughter (not ToB Legacy — the distrinction is problematic because people might think you're talking about an actual Legacy weapon) weapon without actually having been used for slaughtering anyone, but how likely that is falls upon the GM.



#33 Terraneaux

Terraneaux

    Member

  • Members
  • 335 posts

Posted 24 December 2013 - 01:21 PM

Without any clarification from the writers, I'm going to take the bit about finding Legacy of Slaughter weapons to specifically mean finding weapons that already have a 'body count.'  It's possible to make a demon weapon out of any old weapon, the book says so, it's just hard that most people (i.e. those without a master Heretek's knowledge of demon crafting) find it basically impossible.



#34 BrotharTearer

BrotharTearer

    Member

  • Members
  • 489 posts

Posted 26 December 2013 - 09:58 PM

No. Just no. You're wrong. Read the bloody section again.

 

A weapon can have a “sympathetic emotional resonance” without a body count. The naming of that kind of weapon is just misleading (the part about "Slaughter").

 

If you assume someone could make a daemon weapon out of any weapon, anyone half-decent at F.Lore:D with an alright Willpower would be able to spit out daemon weapons like an assembly line. There's also no modifiers listed for weapons that's neither Wrought for Purpose or Legacy of Slaughter, in effect making every item out of the box a +0 modifer.

 

Just the ridiculousness alone should tell you that it ain't so.


Edited by BrotharTearer, 26 December 2013 - 10:07 PM.


#35 Terraneaux

Terraneaux

    Member

  • Members
  • 335 posts

Posted 27 December 2013 - 04:34 AM

The book explicitly says that any weapon can be made into a demon weapon, just that most crafters don't work that way.  I could cite the page chapter and verse if you want.  

 

And yes, it does mean that you can craft demon weapons pretty quickly, if you're willing to gain at least 2d5 corruption points (try to assembly line that and you'll become spawn in no time).  And there's always the chance of cocking it up and suddenly demons.  



#36 bogi_khaosa

bogi_khaosa

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,153 posts

Posted 28 December 2013 - 03:41 AM

I think they mean "any kind of weapon," not "every single weapon."



#37 BrotharTearer

BrotharTearer

    Member

  • Members
  • 489 posts

Posted 28 December 2013 - 06:59 AM

Yes, it's any sort of weapon. Not every single weapon in existence. What would be point of the crafting rules otherwise.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS