Jump to content



Photo

The Stalker and what works first


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#21 Husker949

Husker949

    Member

  • Members
  • 137 posts

Posted 12 December 2013 - 07:20 AM

If you look above the official response has been posted.



#22 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,680 posts

Posted 12 December 2013 - 07:45 AM

Since Ambush does not say you may exhaust this card, I believe you cannot decide when to activate it, so it must be resolved when possible. Correct me if I'm wrong please. ;)


Exhausting a card is always optional. When the trigger event occurs, you choose whether or not you are willing to pay the costs (in this case Exhaust + 1 Fatigue.) If not, nothing happens. Therefore the Stalker could wait until the monster moved adjacent to the trap and, in that moment, activate Ambush.

Think of it this way:
If the Stalker is forced to exhaust the card as soon as able, what happens if he doesn't have any fatigue? Does he suffer a wound instead? What if he wanted to wait for a second monster to move before using his skill?

Set Trap is different. You Exhaust the card to place a trap token, so the costs of activating the card are associated with that effect. The rest of the card (about you gaining bonus damage or monsters making a trap explode) are "always on" effects. There is no cost for those things, so they just happen all the time.



#23 Kirgat

Kirgat

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 12 December 2013 - 08:28 AM

Thanks guys.



#24 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 496 posts

Posted 12 December 2013 - 10:20 AM

I might be wrong but I can't find the problem here since Ambush states "when a monster enters an empty space within 3 spaces of a trap token". At the time a monster is within this range, you would interrupt its action and perform Ambush. Afterwards, if the monster (not defeated) continues to move and enters an empty space adjacent a trap, you would resolve the basic ability.

Since Ambush does not say you may exhaust this card, I believe you cannot decide when to activate it, so it must be resolved when possible. Correct me if I'm wrong please. ;)

 

It's also possible to set the trap when a monster is closer than 3 spaces away, and when that monster moves, its first movement is adjacent to the trap (and also within 3 spaces of it).






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS