Jump to content



Photo

Prophet question


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 No Hero

No Hero

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 01 December 2013 - 04:33 PM

In regards to the Prophet skill All-Seeing: the skill states that "when the insight token is discarded another hero gains the insight token". Do you think it could be read two ways? Either "a hero other than the Prophet" or "a hero other than the one whom the insight token was jsut discarded from"?

What do you think is the letter of the rule, and what do you think it's the spirit of it?

Moreover, Soothing Insight states that when a hero gains the insight token, they recover 1 health and i fatigue. But it states so in the second paragraph of the skill, which suggests me that the recovery ability is tied to the receiving of the token rather than the usage of Soothing Insight. In other words, does that ability trigger when the token is gained via means of All-Seeing? Seeing how Focused Insights works I'd be inclined to say yes.

 

A general question about the prophet now: how do you play it efficiently? It seems to me that out of the 4 healers it's the most fatigue intensive class, even more so than the Spiritspeaker who has fatigue recovery here and there. My Prophet so far has spent 3 experience but beyond having bought All-Seeing I don't see much in the way of its development; as I'm playing 2 heroes only I won't take Omniscience, and I think Grim Fate is too costly



#2 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,630 posts

Posted 01 December 2013 - 08:28 PM

What do you think is the letter of the rule, and what do you think it's the spirit of it?


I think the letter and the spirit of the rule is that a hero other than the one who just discarded the insight token gets it. Based on the rules of the English language, the hero who had the token before is the one being excluded by the term "another hero."
 

Moreover, Soothing Insight states that when a hero gains the insight token, they recover 1 health and i fatigue. But it states so in the second paragraph of the skill, which suggests me that the recovery ability is tied to the receiving of the token rather than the usage of Soothing Insight. In other words, does that ability trigger when the token is gained via means of All-Seeing? Seeing how Focused Insights works I'd be inclined to say yes.


My initial reaction was "no," but reading over the cards, I'm not so sure anymore. Probably worth asking FFG if the costs required to activate Soothing Insight were intended only to apply to handing out the insight token, and the other half of the card be "always on."

Edited by Steve-O, 01 December 2013 - 08:29 PM.


#3 Morthai

Morthai

    Member

  • Members
  • 174 posts

Posted 02 December 2013 - 04:20 AM

"all seeing" triggers the 1hp 1fatigue recovery from "soothing insight". As beta tester i can say this is intended to work this way.



#4 No Hero

No Hero

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 02 December 2013 - 05:43 AM

Wonderful, then. Do you have some insight (soothing or not) as to who can gain the insight token when it's discarded? Steve-O is probably correct, I think






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS