Jump to content



Photo

5+ Investigators and Monsters from Encounters


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Musha Shukou

Musha Shukou

    Member

  • Members
  • 452 posts

Posted 30 November 2013 - 03:46 PM

When playing with 5+ investigators, when a gate opens, it releases 2 monsters. What about when an encounter causes a gate and a monster to appear? Or when an encounter causes just a monster to appear? Are these governed by the same rules? Are there any other situations where more than 1 monster appears when playing with 5+ investigators?



#2 Tibs

Tibs

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,602 posts

Posted 30 November 2013 - 04:05 PM

Whenever a gate opens, it releases 1 monster—two if it's a (5+)-investigator game. This applies to all things that could possibly open a gate, including encounters, because a doom token and a monster appearing are always tied to a gate opening. In 5+ games, there need to be more monsters to keep things interesting.

 

Only one monster appears during "a monster appears!" encounter, though: the encounter happens for a single investigator and it wouldn't be fair to make him face more than one. Note that these aren't the same as "a gate and monster appears" encounters, because the investigator will not have to face the monster right away and it stays on the board.



#3 Dr.Faust

Dr.Faust

    Member

  • Members
  • 352 posts

Posted 30 November 2013 - 10:53 PM

I thought the Gate appears first and thus the Investigator doesn't face the monster?



#4 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,501 posts

Posted 01 December 2013 - 04:56 AM

Yes, that's the point. The dimensional passage opens, and investigator(s) are sucked through it. Then, a monster(s) emerges from the gate ("hey! nice place here! let's take some pictures")


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#5 Musha Shukou

Musha Shukou

    Member

  • Members
  • 452 posts

Posted 01 December 2013 - 04:23 PM

I thought the Gate appears first and thus the Investigator doesn't face the monster?

That's correct. The gate sucks the investigator through so the investigator doesn't deal with the monsters until he comes back through the gate, following normal rules. But the monsters stay there, unlike monsters that appear from encounters.


Edited by Musha Shukou, 01 December 2013 - 04:24 PM.





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS