Jump to content



Photo

Evade if moving after combat?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 mrhinelander

mrhinelander

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 28 November 2013 - 01:21 AM

Does the investigator need to evade if moving out of the monster's space after a combat step?  Please cite the Rules of Play.  

 

Thanks, Mack



#2 mrhinelander

mrhinelander

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 28 November 2013 - 01:50 AM

Does the investigator need to evade if moving out of the monster's space after attacking the monster during the action step?  Please cite the Rules of Play.  

 

Thanks, Mack



#3 demozon

demozon

    Member

  • Members
  • 63 posts

Posted 28 November 2013 - 02:48 AM

There is nothing in the rules that indicate that movement is evade-free after an attack; an investigator must perform an evade test before any non-attack actions.

 

"An investigator must make an evade test against every monster in his space before moving or performing non-attack actions"

(page 14)

 

"Attacking a monster does not require making an evade test." (page 15)

 

When reading the rules, it's a good idea to focus on what they explicitly allow instead of looking for things that are not disallowed. You could easily ask "can I take three extra movement step after an evade test?" - there is nothing in the rules which explicitly prohibit this, but it's still not how you should play it :)


  • SolennelBern, mrhinelander and wombatgirl like this

#4 mrhinelander

mrhinelander

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 28 November 2013 - 03:00 AM

Thanks, your advice about interpreting the rules makes sense. Mack
  • demozon likes this

#5 mrhinelander

mrhinelander

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 30 November 2013 - 01:02 AM

Equivalent to what you've cited, p. 9, "Attacking a monster is the only action that an investigator can perform while a monster is in his space (unless he evades the monster . . . ."

#6 Musha Shukou

Musha Shukou

    Member

  • Members
  • 452 posts

Posted 30 November 2013 - 03:49 PM

Also, if an investigator performs the evade check so that he can perform an action other than attacking, and then wishes to move, he may do so freely. He has already evaded the monster and does not need to do another evade check to move away.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS