Jump to content



Photo

Leonx Riders


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Dogma79

Dogma79

    Member

  • Members
  • 51 posts

Posted 20 November 2013 - 12:58 AM

When does the special ability of the Leonx Riders occurs? At the end of the battle?

 

The Problem is counting Strength of surviving and standing units.

When they are routed to kill enemy units but don't count for strength it seems for me no good choice.



#2 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,569 posts

Posted 20 November 2013 - 09:56 PM

The primary time to use it would be at the end of the battle, yes.  That's when most of your opponent's units would be retreating.  However, also remember that the sorceress's orb ability forces a unit to retreat immediately (mid-battle), so leonx riders could also be used then to kill off the unit.

 

It's true that the Leonx riders don't count for strength after doing this.  The purpose, then, is more about making sure that one (hopefully expensive) enemy unit is destroyed for keeps, rather than simply retreated.  It's a trade-off.  Your unit doesn't count for strength, but his unit is gone.



#3 Dogma79

Dogma79

    Member

  • Members
  • 51 posts

Posted 20 November 2013 - 11:51 PM

That seems logic. Ok, thanx for good advice!

#4 Dogma79

Dogma79

    Member

  • Members
  • 51 posts

Posted 28 November 2013 - 07:44 AM

Is there a difference between rout and retreat for gaming reasons?
The sorcereress' ability means retreat, but is the enemy unit then still in the same area?

#5 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,569 posts

Posted 29 November 2013 - 06:19 PM

Is there a difference between rout and retreat for gaming reasons?
The sorcereress' ability means retreat, but is the enemy unit then still in the same area?



No, the enemy unit is no longer in the battle hex. That's the difference.
 

Rout means tip the figure over, he no longer counts for strength at the end of the battle.  (Units can also be routed outside of battle, of course, just tip them over.)

 

Retreat means move to an adjacent friendly or empty hex and then rout.



#6 Ctol

Ctol

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 03 December 2013 - 08:25 AM

When does the special ability of the Leonx Riders occurs? At the end of the battle?

 

The Problem is counting Strength of surviving and standing units.

When they are routed to kill enemy units but don't count for strength it seems for me no good choice.

 

There are an error: Retreat is step 6a and Counting Strength is step 5b; Then, Routing a Leonx in order to kill an unit doesn't affect the total strength.

 

And don't forget that nice Latari's combo: ;)

Sorceress enhanced with Keeper of the Sigil and Leonx's ability !

Firstly: the sorceress made a unit retreat and you Rout a Leonx (who draw an Orb before) in order to kill that unit.

Secondly: after resolving the Sorceress' ability, you may stand your routed Leonx.


Edited by Ctol, 03 December 2013 - 08:26 AM.


#7 Maerimydra

Maerimydra

    Member

  • Members
  • 62 posts

Posted 01 January 2014 - 04:39 PM

Regarding the Leonx Rider special ability, which player choose the retreating unit that is destroyed when there is more than one retreating unit?



#8 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,569 posts

Posted 01 January 2014 - 09:09 PM

The Leonx Rider ability triggers on a single enemy unit routing. If there are multiple units routing at once, then there are multiple potential triggering events to use the ability on. The Latari player would decide which unit in particular to activate the ability against.




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS