Jump to content



Photo

Ashirians stun


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Neodarkside

Neodarkside

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 17 November 2013 - 03:24 PM

This question came up, I was the OL and a friend was playing Ashirian. She moved beside a group of 3 goblin archers, then stated that they could no longer perform any actions, her reasoning behind it was the card was misleading which explains stunned effect. It says on the card "Discard this card or token. This is the only action you may perform on your turn while you have this card or token." The group agreed with her saying that my goblins lost both actions and can only use the action to remove it, thus permalocking my goblins in place for the duration of the encounter. I argued that they use their first action to remove the stun, then it gives them back the ability to use their 2nd action since the card is now gone.

 

Was I right or were they right? If they were then Ashirian's hero power is way to OP as she sat beside the group of goblins the entire encounter and there was nothing I could do.



#2 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 17 November 2013 - 03:31 PM

Stun only takes one action to be removed.
When removed, the card/token is no more there, so a second action can be made.
This is a very frequent question.
The rules section of Boardgamegeek's forum for Descent has a "FFG sez" thread: IIRC, it contains the answer about the stun condition.
An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#3 C2K

C2K

    Member

  • Members
  • 130 posts

Posted 17 November 2013 - 05:33 PM

This question came up, I was the OL and a friend was playing Ashirian. She moved beside a group of 3 goblin archers, then stated that they could no longer perform any actions, her reasoning behind it was the card was misleading which explains stunned effect. It says on the card "Discard this card or token. This is the only action you may perform on your turn while you have this card or token." The group agreed with her saying that my goblins lost both actions and can only use the action to remove it, thus permalocking my goblins in place for the duration of the encounter. I argued that they use their first action to remove the stun, then it gives them back the ability to use their 2nd action since the card is now gone.

 

Was I right or were they right? If they were then Ashirian's hero power is way to OP as she sat beside the group of goblins the entire encounter and there was nothing I could do.

 

Robin is correct.  Also, you should know that her stun aura only works on minion monsters, not Master monsters.  Your red goblin(or any red monster or Lieutenant for that matter) would not be stunned. 


Edited by C2K, 17 November 2013 - 05:33 PM.


#4 rfisha

rfisha

    Member

  • Members
  • 243 posts

Posted 17 November 2013 - 07:06 PM

It's also clarified in FFG's official FAQ under the support section of the Descent FFG site.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS