How does the Documenting Research political card from the Shards of the Throne expansion interact with the Technology II SC, since you can get 2 techs with the primary? Can you get either one for free? Also, does the Jol-Nar racial ability (which lets them activate the primary when they activate the secondary) mean you can get the tech the Jol-Nar get from the primary for free as well? I couldn't find any info on it in either the manuals or the FAQ, and even a google search turned up nothing.
Documenting Research + Technology II (+Jol-Nar)
Posted 18 November 2013 - 04:55 AM
I believe that you could get either tech from the primary for free.
I also believe thet it only counts the active player (The one that played Tech II) for the techs, and not Jol-Nar's ability.
Posted 10 February 2014 - 10:53 PM
Interesting set of questions. I definitely agree with Nehkrimah's response. Any techs acquired by the active player using the top half of the card fall under the category of "acquired by the primary" in my book. So, if someone receives 1 tech for free and a 2nd for cost, the rest of the folks could choose to get either one for free.
Jol-Nar thing, not so much.
When the Jol-Nar player is activating the secondary AND the primary, that player can get a free tech via the secondary if it copies one of the active player's choices. Then they can get use their special ability to do the primary madness, getting a 2nd one for free and finally a third for 8, less all their crazy discounts they usually have accumulated (e.g. Neural Computing, scientists on tech specialty planets, etc.).